We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel of Choice in Lincoln” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #15 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel of Choice in Lincoln”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stay in Lincoln a lot on business and this is my hotel of choice. Sadly on my next visit it is full. Most importantly the beds are extremely comfortable but there are also lots of homely details that make it different from the norm. I love the lounge area with its copious sofas and honesty bar. The garden with its cat and chickens are a delight in warm weather. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious although the service was slightly chaotic on my last visit. The location is also perfect for the leisure visitor-right in the heart of historic Lincoln surrounded by plenty of very good restaurants. The hotel has a book in the lounge where previous guests have recommended (or not) many of them. I did have aslight issue last time I stayed. My room (no.2) had an odd smell coming out of the bathroom. I mentioned it on checkout so hopefully they've sorted it out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_addictReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
I apologise for any issues had with either the room or breakfast service on your last stay. Rest assured that your feedback has been taken onboard, and used to improve the areas mentioned.

We believe regular guests like yourselves are our greatest achievement, and we greatly appreciate every positive review. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lincoln.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    164
    67
    40
    26
See reviews for
88
276
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed here last night and have spent the last 24 hours waxing lyrical and making all my colleagues (staying in various hovels around the country) jealous.

I was in the room in the picture above, and I slept better than I have in any hotel room for a long time. The "honesty" bar ("help yourself, let's sort it out in the morning") is stocked with real ale and decent wine (and some very tempting Champagne - a bit decadent for one), and I sampled its contents in the garden with two chickens. They are clearly used to a life of luxury, since they seemed non-plussed.

I had a shared bathroom with one other guest and it didn't bother me in the least. The bathroom itself was far nicer than you tend to find in en-suite rooms and my ablutions did not conflict with my neighbour at all.

But to tell you the truth, none of this matters. Why? Because my breakfast - smoked, poached, local haddock, perfectly poached eggs, granary toast and decent coffee - was so unbelievably good that I would have rated this place 5 out of 5 even if I'd been locked out and slept in the pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for this glowing review. I know your positive comments about breakfast will make both our chef and waiting staff very happy, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bail House for another stay.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skegness
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a great hotel although we stopped at their cottage which was wonderful perfect location in bailgate we also ate at the Mexican tequilas just across from the bailgate the food was stunning ! We will definitely return wonderful wonderful !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seacroft38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bail House when you return to Lincoln.

Kind Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Hotel is in a really great location, staff friendly, hotel clean, stayed in the room with the four poster bed and cathedral view, cathedral view is a little limited lol and decor a little tired in places, the breakfast was lovely, I think the £5 car parking charge is unnecessary, would recommend this Hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's very important for us to hear that our staff helped make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

Car parking charges are very common in Lincoln due to the very limited availability of spaces. We do endevour to charge a reasonable fee for this and make sure we have parking available for all our guests. We have also begun looking into the condition of our room decor with a view on refreshing it, as we have recently done to the hote's communal areas.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel in cathedral area of Lincoln. Cool relaxed vibe around the place and very friendly staff. Easy walk to best restaurants and tourist sights - cathedral, castle and Steep Hill.

Only slight downside was the shared toilet and shower facilities but that shouldn't be a dealbreaker.

Dean Wilkes

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar T, Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Due to the layout and age of the building, not all of our rooms are indeed en-suites but we strive to make this merely a quirk and never an impediment to a memorable time away.

We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lincoln.

Kindest Regards

Cesar Teixeira
Manager
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.4 km away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Property: Bail House & Mews
Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,215 - ₹ 11,608
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing