We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Friendly, Friendly!”
Review of 33 Cank Street

33 Cank Street
Ranked #3 of 95 Nightlife in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jazz & Blues, Classic cocktails, Contemporary twists & Unique creations. Enjoy a drink tonight at 33CankStreet.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We had a couple of drinks and a snack before a wedding, what a great bar. Friendly service, a nice atmosphere, kid friendly and a great place to stop in central Leicester. I was impressed with their whole operation, heartily recommend.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33cankstreet, General Manager at 33 Cank Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you enjoyed your wedding and hope to see you in the bar again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ailise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cocktail bar"
in 27 reviews
"table service"
in 14 reviews
"high tea"
in 8 reviews
"great cocktails"
in 11 reviews
"cucumber water"
in 7 reviews
"candy floss"
in 5 reviews
"feta cheese"
in 5 reviews
"blood orange"
in 4 reviews
"long island iced tea"
in 2 reviews
"pre dinner cocktails"
in 2 reviews
"picnic hamper"
in 2 reviews
"unusual cocktails"
in 2 reviews
"drinks menu"
in 4 reviews
"favourite bar"
in 5 reviews
"quirky little place"
in 2 reviews
"dark hair"
in 2 reviews
"excellent music"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Visited for the first time prior to eating at a nearby restaurant.

What a little gem it is. The cocktails are excellent as is the presentation.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 722LeicesterLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33cankstreet, General Manager at 33 Cank Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience.We hope to see you in the bar again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ailise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This is a great little bar, fabulous atmosphere, resident band were really good. It’s so nice to sit in a bar with a mixed age group and listen to live music. Staff were lovely as well. A real gem of a place!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SWIFTYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33cankstreet, General Manager at 33 Cank Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at 33cankstreet. We hope to see you again in the bar soon. Perhaps for our live music event.

Kind Regards,

Ailise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Lovely visit to this fabulous little hideaway. A friend and I pre-booked the cocktail High Tea, specifying gluten free. We were not in the least bit disappointed. The food was not only scrumptious and fresh with a contemporary mix of flavours but the presentation was fantastic. The food was presented picnic-style in a lovely wicker hamper and comprised of a variety of sandwiches, homemade crisps, scones, desert and a further sweet treat. We were then presented with 3 different cocktails at suitable intervals. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly and it proved a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank NatP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33cankstreet, General Manager at 33 Cank Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hello,

It is great to hear that your high tea experience was thoroughly enjoyed and our team provided you with the experience we strive for here at 33cankstreet. We always endeavour to provide great food and drinks whatever your dietary requirements and it wonderful to hear that this was achieved on your visit. We look forward to seeing you in the bar again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ailise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Really poor experience. Heard great reviews and was looking forward to attending for 1st time, but as soon as we got in and ordered our first drinks, we were told that they were going to close because they were "dead" (midnight on Friday!) Despite having a booking until 1am, they were cleaning up around us as we were still drinking. Once they got the bleach out, we just left and went somewhere that wasn't "dead" to enjoy the rest of the night. Based on this first impression, I would not recommend this bar and will not be going back.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank mrakashtrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33cankstreet, Owner at 33 Cank Street, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi Akash,

Firstly thank you for your comments. I'd like to pick up on a couple of them if I may. Secondly unusually for us we took the decision to close early, as we were quiet, as was the case with many of our friends in the bar trade across Leicester.

I have spoken to the team and they are a a little disappointed & frustrated. I was informed you did not state on arrival that you had booked, therefore the team assumed that the booking was a "no-show". Ssecondly you arrived well past 11.30 and you ordered your 1st drinks at 12am by which point most other tables were finishing their drinks or paying up, had you informed us you had a booking and arrived closer to 11.30, it would have been a different situation.

Once we called last orders you informed us you had booked & yet you were still given the option of ordering another drink. I also have it on very good authority that cleaning did not commence till 12.30 & nothing stacked near you till 12.45. It makes no economic sense to stay open at that point, just for you. I hope in retrospect you understand the situation.

Kind Regards Kal & The Canksters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 33 Cank Street also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to 33 Cank Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing