We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a wetherspoons”

The Last Plantagenet
Ranked #275 of 1,322 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: The name of this Wetherspoon pub refers to Richard III, the last Plantagenet king of England, who stayed in Leicester on the eve of his defeat at nearby Bosworth Field, in 1485. After the battle, his body was brought back to the city and displayed for several days. With daily offers & promotions available, The Last Plantagenet has everything to offer. We are a dedicated, hardworking & passionate team that are willing to cater to your every desire.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

You either love or hate Wetherspoons. This is exactly what is states on the tin. Unless you love this chain best avoided. Try the Blue Boar its a proper pub.

Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Sorry to hear this, maybe you could visit us again and we can try and change your opinion?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Stumbled upon this venue on-route to the stadium, and it worked out well.
Great selection of beers at very reasonable prices, friendly staff, supporters from both teams mixing before the game and free wi-fi.
Punk Brew IPA and Hop House on draught with guest beers for the Real Ale Festival.

Thank LIMPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your impromptu visit! Our new additions of Hop House & Punk IPA are proving to be very popular and following the ale festival we've decided to increase our guest ale range, so make sure you come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

I visited the last plantagenet with some friends and the service was great. The staff were all so friendly and really made our meal special. It's great to visit a place with a good atmosphere. Wetherspoons sometimes have a bad reputation but this pub definitely improves that image!

Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for your kind comments and positive review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

This was a good breakfast I note that Tim Martin has issued a dictat that fried tomatoes should be fried well. I always have to ask, but here it was done properly. Attentive staff, good range of beers, cleanliness OK but didn't get a sense of being anything more than a functional pub. If you're a Remained don't read the Wetherspoons Magazine. Full of Brexit rants.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nastame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for the nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Not sure what is going on at this Wetherspoon, made a complaint concerning our first experience there and we received a complimentary meal voucher , on visiting to use the voucher after 45 minutes no food had turned up and as we had a prior engagement we had to cancel the food, the girl behind the bar said “ I did tell you it was a 30 minute wait as you walked away after ordering “ I think before ordering would have been the time to say that ! Needless to say we will not be returning and would suggest that anyone thinking of visiting here should look at other options.

Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantagenet225, The Management Team at The Last Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Really sorry to hear about your bad experience. We strive to provide excellent service for each customer, however sometimes we do get it wrong. Any feedback is appreciated as it goes toward retraining staff on customer service so we can constantly improve in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Last Plantagenet also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Last Plantagenet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing