We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Merginn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Merginn
Ranked #369 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Merginn, very friendly welcome and was offered tea/coffee on arrival. Excellent value for money nice clean room, lovely and warm and plently of hot water with clean towels each day, excellent breakfast. Made to feel very welcome and Steve was the perfect host and nothing was a problem for him. The location for us was perfect and would not hesitate to go back.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
52
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

hi would like to say we had a very nice stay at this b&b they were very helpful,would recommend it

neal and sandra aka shirley lol

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

just got back from The Merginn for a 2 night break, absolutely faultless accomodation, exceptionally clean, beds very comfy, what else can i say, oh yes breakfast superb! Lovely hosts, outstanding value for money, thank you stephen and dawn. Will be back. Tony and shirley.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here waaay back in February for 2 nights and it was..well...alright i supose! The couple who own the Merginn were nice, the room was clean and comfortable! Parking is avaliable at the back of the building as on street is a bit tight! Breakfast was ok aswell.....im struggeling here because the Merginn just didnt stand out atall! well apart from Steve knocking at the door at 11;55am on the morning that we were leaving to '"remind" us that checkout was at 12.........!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strawberryBlackpool, Owner at The Merginn, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your review Calvin. You "must" have a very good memory, as it has taken nearly a year for this review to go on!!!
As it was Valentines weekend we always bend our rules and give a late checkout. Our normal check out is 10.30am, but for this weekend we gave an extra hour. So therefore checkout was "11.30". As you had not appeared at this time, Steve gave a gentle tap on your door to remind you. We had guests arriving for that room at 1pm., so needed to turn the room around quickly.
We do try to be flexible where ever possible, but can't understand why we were critisied and down marked and this review site.
We note you marked us down for location too, but unfortunately we cant move where we are, and most guests appreciate that we are located in the quieter North Shore area of Blackpool rather than hustle and bustle of the town centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

very nice welcome from dawn and steve on arrival rooms clean and spotless very comfy beds food excellent steve even helped us get our car back on the road they will go out of there way to help

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,799 reviews
0.1 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
0.1 km away
The Windsor Carlton
The Windsor Carlton
#135 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.3 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#333 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merginn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merginn

Property: The Merginn
Address: 9 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,739 - ₹ 4,482
Hotel Class:2 star — The Merginn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merginn is situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool where you will find it quieter and more relaxing, yet still within easy reach of all Blackpool'€™s many attractions. Buses and trams stop each end of the Avenue. Gynn Avenue is a lovely quiet street close to the Gynn Square. We are only a 2 minute walk to the promenade, and just a mile back into town and the Tower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing