We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Escape”
Review of The Hornby Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hornby Villa
Ranked #27 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Escape”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our 2nd time staying at the Hornby Villa. 3 nights and the room was spotless and very
comfortable, the breakfast was just as good as the last visit and Gill & Dave were very
welcoming and helpful. This time took parents and both were very happy with the stay and have said they would stay here again - snap!

Room Tip: The four poster is a good room, but favorite is room 9 with the large bed, best sleep in ages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Hello TravellingLady5 it was nice to see you both again & catch up on events from the last 6 months since we last saw you. A lot of our business is now repeat guests returning year after year or sometimes 2 /3 times a year. Having just completed our 4th season our figures show that over a 1/3 of our guests have stayed with us previously which makes us feel very proud of the accommodation we offer. We are pleased you liked Room 9 with the SuperKing bed & your parents in Room 5 Four poster. We look forward to welcoming you all back in 2012 & making our job worthwhile & fulfilling for us both.....Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    46
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
136
246
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We booked this hotel as no stag/ hen parties. We were not disappointed. The cleanliness, hospitality and most of all what great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and was a most pleasant and friendly atmosphere. We will be recommending hornby villa to all our friends... Ian & sherry

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Hi SherryR thank you for this review of your stay in our Economy double en-suite room.
Although it's 1 of our smaller rooms & the last room available when you booked we are pleased you found it satisfactory for your 2 night stay with us. Alot of people book with us because we do not take stag/hen or group bookings they like the quiet friendly atmosphere & personal service. Breakfast is an important part of a guest's stay & we are glad you enjoyed yours.Thanks for recommending us to your friends & hope to see you again soon...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales uk
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Would definately recommend a stay at The Hornby Villa hotel if visiting Blackpool. Gill & Dave were very friendly and welcoming.The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely -with plenty of choice too! Will return again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Hello marshdm thanks for the review of your stay in our Four poster ensuite room we are pleased you enjoyed your Mon-Fri break & noted how spotless our rooms are as we pride ourselves on our very high standards of cleanliness & hospitality.Hope to see you next year on a return visit...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Despite there being heaps of B&Bs in Blackpool, we counted ourselves lucky to find such a good one at the first attempt. Very well situated for the seafront, car parking, excellent breakfast and a host couple for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our only concern was that our room, the one with an Egyptian theme, was very small and it's a good job we are too - many of the people we shared the seafront with on those two days would have struggled to fit into our ensuite! That said, excellent stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Hello Barry R..thanks for the review of your stay in one of our standard double en-suite rooms. There are alot of BB's to choose from in Blackpool, we like to think we stand out from many others because of very high standards of cleanliness & hospitality & the fact we do not take Stag/Hen Group bookings. A Standard double en-suite is one of our smaller rooms & we state that when people either book online within the room description info or over the phone so people know what to expect. The rooms are good value for money for a short stay but for longer breaks & more comfort we do recommend a larger room...Superior / Four Poster or SuperKing but these rooms carry a small supplement. We are pleased you still had an excellent break with us & enjoyed our breakfasts & our location...Look forward to seeing you again in the future..Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Hi everyone

We again returned to Hornby Villa in Blackpool this year. We booked early to avoid disappointment and be able to select one of their eight rooms. Last year we managed to get a cancellation and wanted to return this year to stay in one of their other rooms.

We were not disappointed - we had a lovely stay and met some of the other guests who were also returning after their great experiance from previous years. If you want to stay in a family run hotel with no hen or stag guests then this is the place to stay. The welcome is warm and genuine and it is like staying at home but without the cooking and washing up ladies.

We have found it is very central to all the delights that Blackpool has and is literally around the corner from the tower in a road that is very quiet considering it has alot of B&B's.

We will be returning next year and so will many of the guests who have stayed there before - so book early to avoid disappointment. They go that extra mile to make their guests stay comfortable with tea and biscuits in the room everyday. The food is really good and the rooms clean and comfortable.

Hope my review has been helpful.

Room Tip: You need to book early as this is a popular place with returning guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevvie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORNBYVILLA, Owner at The Hornby Villa, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Hello Bevvie 2010...it was good to see you again & catch up on the years events. You were right to book early we sell out every weekend during the illuminations & mostly now from repeat guests. This time you booked our superior double en-suite & we are pleased you liked the room...Thanks for your review & all your positive comments & we shall look forward to seeing you again next year...Regards Gill & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
1.0 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St Andrews
668 reviews
0.7 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 16 in St Andrews
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
474 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,264 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#6 of 73 in St Andrews
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hornby Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hornby Villa

Property: The Hornby Villa
Address: 130 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,024 - ₹ 5,337
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hornby Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HORNBY VILLA 4*B&B is not a party hotel/B&B, We do not accommodate Stag/Hens, Group bookings of Single or Mixed sex OR Late Night Nightclubbers....We specialise in relaxing breaks in a homely environment for Couples / The solo traveller / Families / Delegates attending events & conferences..... ABOUT US..The Hornby Villa is a late Victorian house providing the traditional experience of a seaside B&B with a homely ambience while awarded a 4*Guest Accommodation status by Visit Britain for our excellent standards of Cleanliness / Hospitality / Breakfasts & the presentation of our Bedrooms which do vary in size & this is reflected in our pricing structure. LIMITED CAR PARKING IS AVAILABLE BUT MUST BE PREBOOKED BEFORE ARRIVAL BY CONTACTING US DIRECTLY .Perfectly situated at the top of Hornby Road away from the hustle & bustle of the noisy nightlife & Ideal for event & conference delegates being only a short 5 min walk to the Winter Gardens. The National Express coach station is at the bottom of Hornby Road, along with The Sealife Centre, Blackpool Tower, Central Pier, Town Centre & the Promenade also a short 5min walk away--- ROOMS...All En-Suite & accessed by stairs, non smoking,tastefully furnished & each room with it's own sense of identity. Rooms have Free WiFi, Freeview TV ,Tea & coffeee making facilities with complimentary beverages. We supply big bath sheets,hand towels,toiletries & Hairdryers are provided in every room. Our Superior Double/Twin - 4 Poster Room & Superking Rooms also have a Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hornby Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hornby Villa Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing