We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
123
76
26
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
76
26
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackpool promotions big walk in shower premier room dining staff evening meal central location buffet breakfast lovely hotel late at night hotel staff per day three nights one night stay bar prices bit dated games room short break
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the Royal Ruskin between 30July and 3 August for a short break through Blackpool Promotions for the second year. Hotel is in a central location on Albert Road and is perfect for shopping or transport links. Hotel room 121 was clean and toilet/shower area looks to have been recently renovated, room on the small side but adequate, towels were changed daily. Food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner and dining staff were all very pleasant and efficient . The lounge for drinks was very reasonable priced, and free entertainment at night was good. Free transport tickets given daily from reception if you are with Blackpool Promotions. Hotel is undergoing renovations and expansion currently and I am sure once completed will only enhance the guests experience. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I7296LArichardk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a great review on your recent holiday.

We are delighted you had a fabulous holiday with us and that you found your room to be very clean and comfortable, we do have fantastic premier rooms available at the hotel for a small supplement which offer a little more luxury for a small supplement - these may be something to consider for your next stay with us?

Being located directly in the town centre our location is great and perfect for those looking to be close to Blackpool's many great attractions and shops! We're pleased you found it to be ideal.

Thank you for the kind words on our food, the excellent service and superb food are two of the many great reasons why the Royal Ruskin is so popular, so it is brilliant you enjoyed and that our friendly team made you feel so welcome.

We're also very happy you got to see some of the excellent live entertainment on offer here at the hotel as we provide some of the best live cabaret in Blackpool.

Our expansion - once complete will add 30 new Premier rooms along with sensual spa and large new cabaret lounge which will be amazing, we are all very excited for the grand opening at the end of Summer.

Please do come and visit us again in the future, all the very best from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

My wife and I have just come back from another long weekend at the Ruskin, the last time we were here the Cabaret was by the side of the bar at street level. The first afternoon I asked the barman what the entertainment was that night and he rightly said that there were a couple of singers and two or three sessions of Bingo. We came back to the hotel after having a meal out only to find that there was no entertainment on, until that is my wife asked some else who said it was down stairs, unfortunately we had missed the first session of Bingo but were in time for the singers, maybe the barman could pass this info on when asked about it. Anyway back to the hotel, our room like everyone's was very warm due to the heatwave, however the hotel has supplied two fans that can be positioned wherever you think best, the room was quite large and the bathroom was clean and tidy, even though the shower was a bit on the small side. There is plenty of drawer space and hangers, the bed was comfortable and the side lighting was very good. The breakfast is brilliant, everything you could wish for and good quality, also the staff are very attentive but not intrusive, we will return.

Room tip: Take pot luck.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benidorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Benidorm88,

Thank you for the fabulous review.

Overall we are thrilled you had such an enjoyable holiday with us at the Royal Ruskin Hotel,

We are sorry there was a little confusion as to the location of our entertainment, this is usually displayed in our reception area with the nightly itinerary of what is going on.

We are pleased you were comfortable in your room, due to the very mild temperatures recently we do understand it can get very warm in guest bedrooms however it's great our friendly team allocated 2 fans for your room to help combat the heat.
It's also really great to hear you found the room to be extremely clean and very spacious, we do have superb Premier rooms which are now available to book which offer a little more luxury for a small supplement - these may be something to consider for a future holiday with us.

Thank you for the very kind comments on our breakfast and staff, the Royal Ruskin prides itself on wonderful cuisine and excellent service with a smile - two of the many great reasons why the hotel is so popular with returning guests - so we are delighted you enjoyed the food on offer.

All in all it is fabulous you had a great time with us and it's great you will be returning in the future so we will look forward to welcoming you on your next trip,

Best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We have been staying regularly at The Ruskin for around 20 years and we have always very satisfies with the staff, meals and service. I was a little concerned that things might change., not necessarily for the better .when the hotel changed hands last year. Three visits latter I am pleased that the hotel is as good as ever. Some of the rooms have been upgraded. There is some limited car parking on site but there are also public car parking near by. The hotel is central and close to the main shopping centre. For those who need it there is entertainment nightly.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Johnhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Johnny,

Thank you for the excellent review on your recent stay.

Being such a loyal returning guest of many years - your feedback is extremely important to us so thank you.

It is really great that as with previous visits - you had another wonderful time on holiday with us and it's fantastic our staff made you feel so welcome again.

Thank you for the great mention of our location - this helps other visitors when looking to book, our location is ideal being directly in the town centre minutes walk away from many of Blackpool fantastic attractions and shops.

All in all it really is fantastic you had a great holiday with us - we are currently underway with a huge expansion through to next door - and once complete we will be adding 30 new premier rooms, a large cabaret venue plus sensual spa so we hope you will return soon to see the exciting upgrades.

From myself and all of the staff and management, all the very best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here.lovely hotel with pleasant staff. Clean room .will definitely be back .played bingo and watched the artist.what more could you ask for.Even had a fan in the room which was a must at night.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank marieandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Marie / Ian,

Many thanks for the lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

We're thrilled you and your sister had a fabulous time with us - made so by our wonderful staff and excellent live entertainment.

It's great you were so comfortable in your allocated room - we have many room types on offer here at the hotel including super new Premier rooms for a small supplement - something to definitely consider for a future holiday to the resort.

We do hope you will choose us again for a future break to Blackpool, don't forget we are currently underway with a huge expansion and once finished (August) we will be adding 30 new suites, a large cabaret venue and sensual spa - so we hope you will return to see the exciting changes!

Many thanks once again form the team at the Royal Ruskin

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Brilliant price ! Only paid £39 for a double room with en suit. They have a booklet with discount vouchers to a few of the attractions. Close to the bars and clubs.

On site garage to park your car securely for £20.

We did use any of the hotels facilities but they had live entertainment and a bar.

I would have given 5stars but when we got there, there was building work going on (looks like they’re extending into the next building) this was only a problem for us at 8am when all the building started. Would have been nice to be informed before booking but there were signs around the hotel appoligising and lady at the desk apologised in the morning.

Over all definitely worth the money!

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank KsB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear KsB19,

Thank you for lovely review.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found our location to be ideal, being directly in the town centre we're so close to many of Blackpool's amazing attractions and as you state - guests staying with us can save up to 50% however these must be pre purchased at the time of booking your holiday to save £££.

Thank you for the kind mention of our onsite garages, these offer a secure and convenient solution to park your vehicle when staying with us, however we do advise to once again pre book these prior to your arrival as spaces are limited.

With regards to the building work - Our builders work normal day time hours to minimise disturbance to guests however we do apologies for any inconvenience caused by this, we are indeed expanding through to next door - and once complete (August time) we will be adding 30 new suites, a large cabaret venue plus sensual spa! A very exciting time.

Thank you once again for the review, it means a great deal to us.

we hope you will choose us again for a future break to Blackpool, best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews