We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I would just like to say a big thankyou to Toni and the rest of her team at the melville who all helped make my daughters 18th on sat. 12th Nov. a really special night. we had a party of 17 ladies spread over 7 rooms and don't think any of us had a problem. The rooms were clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble and the welcome we recieved when we arrived was great. We was out all afternoon, came back to change and we had asked if we could put banners up for my daughter, but when we walked in the bar Toni had already sorted it with a lovely buffet too what a lovely surprise! There was also a DJ on in the bar so had a few dances before we went on the town. This was our second stay and have booked again for June. The breakfast was lovely and served very quickly even though they had a lot of guests. I would suggest anyone staying here who does have a problem with towels, bathmats etc. speak to the staff at the time, (they dont bite! very approachable) and give them a chance to sort things, its too late when you leave. The location is excellant and yes a couple of the rooms may be a bit small but its a big hotel with lots of rooms and excellant value for money. I apologise to any of the other guests if we were a bit noisy, we was celebrating and not the hotels fault but don't think we were that bad. Can't wait for June! xxx

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hels277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to do a buffet for your group and to help your daughter enjoy her birthday. All comments will be passed on and we really look forward to seeing you all again in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    115
    79
    58
    95
See reviews for
83
152
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Great welcome tea/coffee biscuits/cake offered on arrival, Hotel room very very small. No towels to stand on when getting out of shower. We stayed from Monday - Friday bath towels were never changed. No hand towels left at all. BUT the friendliness of all staff and general cleanliness of hotel ,entertainment, excellent food made up for this. Just a short walk from sea front and all entertainment. Hotel bar expensive but entertainment was very good. Would we stay again a definate Yes....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jutland17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, General Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We do strive to make all our guests feel welcome and I will pass on your message to all staff members. I would like to opologuise for your towels not being changed, we do supply bath matts in all rooms and if an extra towel is needed we can always supply them on request. I would also like to point out that we have since had a hand rail installed in our bar area as it was sugested, by your group, would be an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

First view of the "banner" outside was off putting ,but once thro the doors all that changed --
Rooms were a bit dated in places, but clean and comfortable beds, Staff were excellent and the food was the best we have had for a long time,congrats to the Chef ,all on diets now we are home .Would we stay there again --------YES if they would have us ,
Walking distance for all the sights ,what more could we ask for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, General Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Thank you for your comment, this will be passed onto the chef and all staff involved. The banners outside are being removed and replace by a new state ofthe art scanner. All the bedrooms are to under go refurbishment but we can only do this in the quiet period so hopefully next time you return they will be updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at The Melville Hotel and just wanted to say how welcome I felt,I was greeted by a young well mannered girl on reception who was telling me she was new but I couldn't tell at all she was a natural and very helpful,The rooms were clean but not very modern and the breakfast was nice to I will be coming again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendyash11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Thank you for your comment

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all comments are passed onto staff.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Melville last week for half term with my thirteen year old son.
We had a great time, the hotel is clean, warm, good food and fantastic staff
they could not do enough for us. Would stay again abd reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.2 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#34 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 km away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#57 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,788 - ₹ 8,298
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing