We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Melville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melville Hotel
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Great welcome tea/coffee biscuits/cake offered on arrival, Hotel room very very small. No towels to stand on when getting out of shower. We stayed from Monday - Friday bath towels were never changed. No hand towels left at all. BUT the friendliness of all staff and general cleanliness of hotel ,entertainment, excellent food made up for this. Just a short walk from sea front and all entertainment. Hotel bar expensive but entertainment was very good. Would we stay again a definate Yes....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jutland17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, General Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We do strive to make all our guests feel welcome and I will pass on your message to all staff members. I would like to opologuise for your towels not being changed, we do supply bath matts in all rooms and if an extra towel is needed we can always supply them on request. I would also like to point out that we have since had a hand rail installed in our bar area as it was sugested, by your group, would be an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    115
    80
    59
    97
See reviews for
85
155
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

First view of the "banner" outside was off putting ,but once thro the doors all that changed --
Rooms were a bit dated in places, but clean and comfortable beds, Staff were excellent and the food was the best we have had for a long time,congrats to the Chef ,all on diets now we are home .Would we stay there again --------YES if they would have us ,
Walking distance for all the sights ,what more could we ask for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, General Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Thank you for your comment, this will be passed onto the chef and all staff involved. The banners outside are being removed and replace by a new state ofthe art scanner. All the bedrooms are to under go refurbishment but we can only do this in the quiet period so hopefully next time you return they will be updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at The Melville Hotel and just wanted to say how welcome I felt,I was greeted by a young well mannered girl on reception who was telling me she was new but I couldn't tell at all she was a natural and very helpful,The rooms were clean but not very modern and the breakfast was nice to I will be coming again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendyash11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Thank you for your comment

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and all comments are passed onto staff.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at the Melville last week for half term with my thirteen year old son.
We had a great time, the hotel is clean, warm, good food and fantastic staff
they could not do enough for us. Would stay again abd reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Friendly, efficient staff from reception to dining room. The front of house looks ok, however the room we were allocated was unpleasant.

Room Tip: book your trip to blackpool early, particularly during busy times such as the illuminations...... yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReayofSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melville7072, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that you found your room unpleasant, please let us know what room it was andwe can check to see what the problem was wit h the room.

Thanks you for the comments regarding the staff, they will be passed on. Please can you contact the hotel on 01253 623113 and we can discuss your room problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
198 reviews
0.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
387 reviews
1.8 km away
Rose Hotel and Spa
Rose Hotel and Spa
#64 of 73 in Blackpool
14 reviews
1.0 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#54 of 73 in Blackpool
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Property: Melville Hotel
Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,877 - ₹ 10,075
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing