We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay for hen week end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Derwent Blackpool
Ranked #193 of 862 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We went to blackpool on my daughters hen week end and the derwent was part of a package. The owners Chris and Rob have been the best hosts and have helped us to find our way around blackpool and recomended places to go which could save us money.
The accomodation was clean and tidy and we felt that nothing was to much trouble. would stay again if ever in blackpool.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonesWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 226 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights last march with my boyfriend it was for my birthday so we were sightseein mostly as l had never been to blackpool before so was very good accomadation to say its not the best place to go for clean and nice places . Made to feel very welcome and was clean and friendly . would reccomend to any1

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet9083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

having read other reviews we expected to be made welcome. We were shown to our room, the owner (who didn't even introduce himself) seem exasperated with questions I had to ask.

On the day of check out we were a little late getting downstairs (in part due to a terrible night's sleep). We were welcomed with the words "you're too late for breakfast". Well good morning to you too! As it happened we were a couple of minutes late and I doubt it would have been too much inconvenience to offer us at least coffee/toast - especially seeing as we had paid for it. The TV was very ropey in the room too.

Wouldn't book again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supervixen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

First of all we was made welcome by the owners, Robert + Chris, they were very warming and friendly and very helpful too. The rooms are a good size and nicely decorated (which is a change for Blackpool B+B's what we've stayed in before!!!). The breakfasts were delish, full english and a variety of cereals and fruit. Location is fab, only about a 5 min walk into town and only a 15min ish walk to the pleasure beach! Robert + Chris are very good hosts and we would definatley reccomend this hotel to ANYBODY going to Blackpool. A big thanks again to Robert + Chris for the fab hotel and for how friendly and helpful you both were!! hope to see you soon....
Luv The Bride To Be !!! xxx

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryconnah'sQuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

After reading the reviews on here and the hotels own website I was expecting a friendly welcome and a nice comfortable hotel with breakfast. On arrival was met by Chris (only found out his name after checking out and him leaving a voice msg on my mobile) all he said was, we have paid and has our name and address, gave us the room key and told the room was directly about us. In the room there was no information for you about anything to do with the hotel in case of emergencies e.g. fire evacuations, or recommendations on where to visit or places to eat etc. which everywhere I have stayed in have always had this.

When entering the room it looked very basic and although we had been given a room with a double and single bed you wouldn’t of been able to fit 3 people in the room at once. The bed was far too soft and gave me a really bad back ache in the morning, they use the cheap memory foam pillows which have seen better days, so don’t work as they should and give no support.

In the morning we went to go for breakfast at 9am (serving times are between 8.45 and 9.30) to be greeted by the same person as yesterday and told that breakfast is not included (even though when we booked we had chosen bed and breakfast), so decided to use the laptop, the only place to get wi-fi connection is in the room they serve breakfast (where the website leads you to believe it is available in your room as well.

On the morning of check out which was before 10.30am we left the room at 10.10am and went to the reception area, as no-one was around we rang the bell and waited, after 5 minutes we rang it again. Someone who was staying in the hotel came in from having a cigarette outside told us the guy has popped out and would be back very shortly. So we decided to take our things to the car and hopefully he would be back once we returned. Once we returned again we rang the bell but no-one came, so decided to leave the key where he would find it and left, although was not keen on doing this it was now just gone 10.30and the parking ticket was due to expire. I then received a message on my fone from ‘Chris’ to apologize for not being there but had to go to sort out something with the bank. Why not wait for another 20 minutes until your guests had checked out.

If you want to stay at a Bed and Breakfast that you only get a bed in the most basic room and a bed and pillows that should have been replaced years ago, and have to wait about 20 minutes for the hot water to start pouring through the taps, this is the place for you. Otherwise I would suggest find somewhere else that gives you everything that they offer and the staff talk to you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevy21k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
427 reviews
1.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,309 reviews
0.0 km away
Abbey Lodge Blackpool
Abbey Lodge Blackpool
#162 of 862 in Blackpool
287 reviews
0.2 km away
The Lanes
The Lanes
#552 of 862 in Blackpool
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derwent Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derwent Blackpool

Address: 42 Palatine Road, Blackpool FY1 4BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 862 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: ₹ 5,087 - ₹ 5,518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derwent Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer warm, friendly and cordial guest accommodation. With rooms containing, full central heating, digital TV in all bedrooms, free internet access in the bar. We provide guests with a hearty, traditional full English breakfast. We also cater for groups both large and small and up to 13 person coach parties. We have a strict non-smoking policy within our hotel.Coupling excellent food with swift service, it is little wonder we have been awarded a 3* and BAGS award!Situated within a few minutes walk from the town centre, sea front, theatre and clubs. Nearby the lake-district offers a stark contrast to Blackpool's attractions in the shape of beautiful countryside and stunning landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Derwent Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing