We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Ocean is polluted” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Hotel
Ranked #838 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Ocean is polluted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

After reading reviews (after we'd booked I'm sorry to say) We weren't expecting much, so the dated decor was no surprise. For 2 nights for £150 for 2 adults and 1 child we thought we could put up with it. The carpet was threadbare, the walls and ceiling were tobacco stained the sheets were clean but both beds had really filthy bedspreads over them, the bedclothes smelled of "Deep heat" from a previous occupant the bathroom was dirty and a terrible smell of drains came from the basin, the noise from the bathroom fan made my daughter jump every time the light went on. after a great night we returned to our room to find we had running waterin the bathroom, not from the tap, from the ceiling, dripping onto the light/shaving socket, my husband went to find someone to help. he rang the bell 4 times got no reply so followed the snoring and found the night porter asleep on his computer, wary of startling him he rang the bell again, returned to our room and phoned the hotel again,no answer. My husband didn't sleep at all. I had an uncomfortable night sticking to the rubber undersheet. we all felt filthy after a night in that room and after breakfast, which was adequate we went to checkout. The owner was not impressed and wanted to charge for the 2 nights we had booked, he showed no surprise about the leak in the bathroom, which explained the mildew, he had no intention of fixing it. He said he had to pay commission to late rooms.com so I paid for 1 night plus his commission for the second. Due to the mixed reviews I can only assume some rooms are better than the skin-crawling filth we stayed in, If you are willing to take a chance, stay here! We found a much nicer room for the 2nd night of our stay for exactly the same price.

Room Tip: Don't take room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    13
    14
    3
    34
See reviews for
15
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have stayed at the Ocean Hotel a few times when visiting Blackpool.

It is very convenient for the railway station (North) and right on the sea front. Staff are pleasant and the full cooked breakfast is more than adequate. For the money, you can't beat it. It is much better than some higher priced establishments in the immediate area. The rooms are clean and comfortable with the benfefit of en-suite facilities and freeview TV.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

When we arrived we was greeted with a nice smile thought it was too good to be true we looked at the room thought it would be adequate for one night. If you can escape the window with a large crack in it and the shower i feel which hadnt been cleaned ever i couldnt tell you who the owners were just a scruffy man who worked in the bar at the evening and then served breakfast in the same raggy clothes i will never stay at tbis flee pit ever again avoid all the time

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Read some reviews regarding this hotel and they are nothing short of scandalous - I really do not know what some people expect for their money.
We spent a night here Fri 2 Sept to see Jimmy Carr at The Winter Gardens (excellent by the way) and witness the first night of the illuminations. As such, this Hotel was located in an ideal prime location for both events. An adequate Car Park exists to the rear with room for Id say 12 vehicles or so.
Greeted on arrival, a room to the rear on the second floor that was perfectly adequate (double room with ensuite), clean and well equipped with flat screen digital TV, tea making facilities, Hair dryer, and great shower in the en suite.
As you can imagine, Blackpool was extremely busy, as was the Hotel, and the staff, though ran off their feet, were always available to answer any queries and provided a fantastic full english breakfast the Saturday AM before we left.
We had a fantastic nights sleep, despite it being a Friday night with so much going on in Blackpool, our room was peaceful with little to no noise within the Hotel.
Yes the decor could be updated, yes some of the fittings we also a bit out dated, but everything worked and everything was clean....some people should remember that a lot of businesses are suffering the effects of recession, and for the price of $45 our room and service was spot on.
Highly recommended for a short stay in Blackpool if you want good access to all shopping facilites, nighlife etc, and fantastic for events at The Winter Gardens / North Pier.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinwhitduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

1st well wot can I say we pulled up outside and it looked like the Adams family house generally unkept from the exterior nothing like wot is described on late rooms.com.
We went inside and asked where the disabled entrance is and was told by this scruffy guy it's just round the back, in the alleyway.
We went in the bar area after we had paid £310 for a family of 4 Monday to Friday.(wot a mistake)
Could right your name in the dust in all areas,wallpaper is ancient,paintwork was dirty and all chipped,carpets in our rooms dirty and full of stains,waste soil pipe at back of toilet constantly leaked with a pink towel wrapped around it to catch the drips,1shower scalded you the other in second room had no water at all.
Sink in both rooms didn't hold water (plug too small)
Had a room with a see view but couldn't see the sea for the muck on the windows inside and outside.
Unsociable owners, in 4 days he only spoke twice,once on arrival to take our money,and ice on leaving to have you given your keys back,
Guide book in room 4 years out of date,things to do and places to see pamphlets were neither use nor ornament has they advertising places that don't exist anymore in Blackpool,nobody introduced themselves it was a guessing game who was the owner and who was the staff.only good thing I can say is the bedding was clean but outdated,
The curtains were filthy the lace table cloth had a big hole in the middle of it, the tv in the family room had a remote but no remote for the freeview box so had to get out of bed to turn it over,the 2nd tv had a remote for the freeview box but not for the actual tv so you had to get out of bed to turn the volume up and down, my mother in law was mortified could only get a wash in cold water in the sink and could not get in shower to wash her hair because there was (no water) went on week of special offers single room £20per night family room was £60 per night paying that was bad enough if we hadn't have gone on the special single room should have been £40 per night and family room should have been £75 per night I would have demanded my money back. What ever you do do not go to this hotel,the alley leading to the entrance of the carpark was full of broken glass and drug users needles,
Can't leave a window open at night because of the constant traffic noise never stops.
Just keep walking past this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.8 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.0 km away
North Beach Seafront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Howard Hotel
The Howard Hotel
#413 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 km away
St James Hotel Blackpool
St James Hotel Blackpool
#382 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bromley
The Bromley
#104 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hotel

Property: Ocean Hotel
Address: 180/182 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #838 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing