We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Henson Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$ 48
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton Court Hotel(Blackpool)
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Derby Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
US$ 120
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 83
US$ 73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 53
US$ 49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Papillon(Blackpool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
63
35
14
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
35
14
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitnew ownersnorth piersea viewcooked breakfastbudget hotelnight porterlovely hotelideal locationtown centreone nightfull englishthoroughly enjoyed our stayup to datekeep up the good worknight stayon arrival
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Excellent location on the seafront.
Friendly staff.
The dining area is clean, bright and airy.
An attractive small bar with windows on the seafront completes the ambiance.

Clean room except for some mould around the bottom of the shower cubicle, kettle, tea, coffee, individual milk cartons and biscuits, fluffy towels, shower gel & shampoo supplied. Comfortable beds. The Free WiFi in the bedroom was a bonus. TV (flat screen).

We booked at the last minute and got a better price on the normal one of £50+ for B+B.

The hotel is currently under New Management who are steadily making improvements all through the hotel.

A few things that let it down on this visit:
Breakfast was disappointing.
The quantity was excellent but the quality wasn't very good and unfortunately lacked taste in all departments.
The food looked as if it had been prepared in advance rather than freshly cooked.
The tea was lukewarm.
If we had paid the full room rate we would have not been entirely happy with our stay as we've stayed in similar priced hotels in Blackpool on the seafront and had better standard of rooms/bathrooms and better food.

As it was, our overall experience was a pleasant enough one and we would return again to see what improvements have been made.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review, we do appreciate all feedback.

We are quite surprised that the breakfast was disappointing. We can assure you that all our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and we are more fussy about our suppliers than a lot of hotels in the area. As examples: we only supply free range eggs and our sausages are not the standard supply that you might expect from a budget hotel. However, if we failed to deliver our usual standard during your stay we can only apologise.

We do hope that you will visit us once again as we do have a two-year refurbishment plan in place.

Thank you once again.

Michelle & Andrew (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We stayed with a few girls the night before the half marathon. We loved the room we had. Very good value for money. Very spacious and incredible comfortable beds. Upon arrival I was struggling to get 12 pound coins for the parking and a very kind gent (painter/decorator/handy man?) gave me a pound coin as I was one short. Highly appreciated as the parking machines in blackpool are a bit of a nightmare. Some of them don't accept card and notes! we were also allowed to keep one of the rooms to shower in after half marathon. very great customer service

Room Tip: Family room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank astridpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review!

We do feel that the staff go out of their way to help our guests and we get a lot of positive feedback about them. The gentleman that helped you with the carpark was probably Andy. He is our marvellous handyman and a true gent.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you soon to The Stretton.

Michelle & Andrew (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night myself and my partner. Room was very basic with only
2 plugs, which was a night mare. They there right over the other side of the room.
I couldn’t wash my hair in the shower because the water pressure when the shower was hot as next to nothing, turned down the temperature to luke warm and still I would of been on ages. After my shower I rinsed the soap out and the black mound from the tiles and bottom of the shower was coming off. Glad it wasn’t round my feet. We didn’t stay in hotel for drinks or food, we just wanted to get out and enjoy the weather. The carpets on the stairs and the landings where very shabby, patched together and stuck with tape. Overall it didn’t spoil our trip but I wouldn’t stay here again and especially not with my child.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we do value your feedback.

As business travellers ourselves, we too would find the lack of plug sockets inconvenient. For a while, we did leave extension leads in each room to make it easier for guests. However, we found that quite a large number were going missing.

As for the carpets, we agree that they are dated and have a two-year renovation plan which will see the hotel slowly being transformed. This plan will also see the rooms refurbed and more sockets added where we feel it necessary.

We are concerned about the water pressure and mould and will be investigating this further.

Thank you once again.

Michelle & Andrew (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This was first time ive been away with my friends to for years, and this place was fab, the staff were amazing couldn't do enough for you, the rooms are spotless with plenty of towels and the bed was very comfy. Lovely breakfast, free Wi-Fi and a 24 hour bar, what more could you ask for, I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: I is well worth booking a sea view room, beautiful to wake up to.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merluvsbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and The Stretton and hope that you will come and visit us once again.

Michelle & Andrew (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Went for weekend with grandaughter and wouldn't really recommend... staff really nice but very few of them.. had to ask for milk coffee etc for room... breakfast not bad...but rest would avoid.. disgusting.. a lot of young lads n lasses drunk and being rowdy at 8.30 am as it's a24 hr bar... not good wen ur having breakfast,

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle L, Owner at Stretton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank for your review.

The lads and lasses you mention were spoken to within ten minutes of them making a noise. There was no recurrence of this disruption.

We do find the use of your word 'disgusting' to describe the rest of the hotel and your stay over-the-top and disappointing.

Thank you once again.

Michelle & Andrew (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews