We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for a weekend away”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

had a two day stay at the end of july and was upgraded to a delux room ,
hotel is excellent , the bed was huge and very clean , the room was very comfortable ,
breakfast was excellent, the food for dinner at night was great , all staff very helpfull
drunks are a little expensive but apart from the that excellent overall experience

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,349 - 2,353 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here overnight with 2 adults and 3 children. Right next to theme park and a short walk from south pier but abit far to walk with 3 children to north side, we got taxi for £6 back to the hotel. Hotel was very clean and staff were very polite and efficient. Checkin was quick and easy. Breakfast was by far the best we have had in a hotel. There was something for everyone in a buffet style. Hot cooked breakfasts, croissants & muffins, toast & cereals, fruit & yogurts, teas coffees and orange apple juice or milk. Hotel does have room service for food with some items available 24 hrs. The room had the roller coaster right outside the window which the kids love. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debsidooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Really lovely hotel, excellent position for the Pleasure Beach and sea. Modern, clean and comfortable surroundings. We had a family room and was great to have a separate sleeping area for the children. Our bed was huge and very comfy. Breakfast was of a good qullaity, although would recommend you get there before 8.45 as big queues after 9. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and genuinely friendly. We had two 6 year old girls with us and the staff went out of their way to chat to them. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Blackpool and would definitely return to the Big Blue Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

this is a lovely hotel, excellent service, brilliant buffet breakfast, room was nice, with tea coffee, tv, and had play station for kids- their bunk-beds, were to one side of the main room, which was nice for us and them. en-suite was lovely and clean with bath tub and shower.
staff happily provided a travel cot for baby.
this hotel is literally next door to the pleasure beach, from our window, the big roller-coaster was only few yards away,,
we really enjoyed our stay, and would love to come back when weather is nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaeda_sikander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for one night for my sons birthday on 3rd August. This was our second stay in the Big Blue Hotel, and it was just as lovely as last time.
We bought pleasure beach wrist bands through the hotel and used the hotels own entrance to the park, which saved on lots of queuing!
The evening meal was very nice, and I thought not bad value for money as it was so good. My daughter got to make her own pizza at the table, and got a chefs hat and apron to keep, so this kept her entertained for 5mins! The staff and restaurant sang happy birthday to my son, putting a candle in his dessert :)
Room was basic, rather like a premier inn or ibis, but was very clean and did its job. Bed was comfy. Not too much noise at night, apart from the room above were like elephants stomping around.
Breakfast was very tasty. Lots of choice - full english or continental, muffins and fruit, and as much as you like.
Staff were very friendly and very helpful, always had a smile for us, especially the restaurant staff.
We will return, probably on another birthday for my son, as he loves the Big One.
Tip: Don't try to go to bed earlier than 8pm until the Big One has finished as it flys past the back of the hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
4.6 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
4.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
0.0 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
1.9 km away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
4.2 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: ₹ 6,569 - ₹ 15,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing