We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

chose here as attending function in the venue next door to hotel so location was great.cant fault it really, the room ( posh pod/sea view) was quite small but nicely done, lovely view of irish sea from small window, very clean, good en suite with walk in shower. room was on 3rd floor with lift to all floors not a problem for those less abled, and there were quite a few of those as the hotel very popular with the older clientele, lots of coach trips etc .deal included dinner bed and breakfast and at £58 all in its and excellent value for money. choice at dinner was soup or juice to start, meat or fish with veg for main, trifle, ice cream or cheese for pud. all well cooked and tasty.the service was very efficient at breakfast and dinner, like a well oiled machine and very friendly aswell.breafast also good. overall a very nice stay, if a little old fashioned , however ,that said, the personal touch at the elgin was a nice change from our usual large corporate type hotel

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrswaughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Many thanks for your feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed our facilities, food and hospitality. We always try to ensure a warm welcome and a friendly atmosphere abounds.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

639 - 643 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

we really enjoyed the elgin hotel the food was exellent the waiters and waitresses were brilliant we had a exellant bedroom sea view we bought tickets for a tea dance in the tower ballroom with a discount at only 6 00 each which was brilliant we will definatley visit the elgin againgood entertainment good bar prices bar staff brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dewi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments. It gives all the team here a boost to receive such feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Another great time had by all at the Elgin Hotel for the Doris Day/Frank Sinatra weekend to celebrate Mums 80th birthday and once again I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. Excellent traditional home made food, served by friendly and efficient staff, entertainment both nights was spot on, we loved Doris Day, what a great voice!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and I would recommend this hotel time and time again. Big thanks to Amanda who looked after us before we got there and during our stay and a massive thank you to Debbie who is an absolute star and a great asset, one of the best people I have ever come in to contact with in a hotel, flirty gertie will stay with us forever!

Thanks to everyone for making it a very special weekend for Mum.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Many thanks for the feedback Lisa. We were all really pleased that Mum enjoyed her 80th so much. Sounds like Amanda and Debbie played a blinder - we fortunate to have such a good team.
Hoping we can be of service for your next family celebration.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes to Mum and All,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at The Elgin last weekend on a busy Blackpool weekend: Elton John and Rhod Gilbert both in concert amongst everything else Blackpool has to offer! Our room was petite but very modern, clean and had everything you expect in a room. Breakfast was lovely and prompt. An excellent stay, we'll definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahqemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Many thanks. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Maybe try one of our weekends - loads of different themes - anything from Robbie Williams Tribute to Comedy.
Hope we can welcome you back again.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Me and my partner stayed here a while a go now, we booked to stay for a comedy weekend with food all inclusive. The coach from Chester to Blackpool and back was also included.
At first we were dreading it as we seemed like the only one of our age group to be there. But we got to the hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very modern, spacious and warm.
The food was absolutely delicious, being served hot, fresh and when it came to dinner we were served a four course meal.
In the day we'd take a walk into the town which took us about 30mins no more, but was a lovely walk along the promenade, and you can even catch a tram there and back.
The drinks were reasonably priced. There are two sides to the hotel with a bar and stage in each. Each night there were different acts in the different bars. The entertainment was a scream!

The overall trip was truely one to remember would definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina_Rick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed being the youngest on the coach! We run coaches from towns in the North of England, North Wales and Northern Ireland - we're always trying to persuade younger people to come by coach. It's easier on the pocket and easier on the environment. You also don't have to worry about driving home if you've had a few drinks the night before - 'Coaching really is Cool' .
Many thanks for the feedback - good to know that the entertainment went down well.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,238 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
5.5 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: ₹ 4,872 - ₹ 10,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing