We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old girl!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Grand old girl!”
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location.
I booked a double room with breakfast on thier website which is good, the only downside is the credit card charge of £2.50 which seems be getting a feature of many hotel chains, I believe this is another way of gaining extra revenue from customers and not representative of the charge from the card companies. I hope that the OFT review will stop these charges in future.
The room and bathroom where clean and well presented, however the bathroom ceiling was peeling badly which let the overall room experience down. Breakfast is served in a what was and could be again a splendid room. The food quantity was good but the quality let it down. The room was shabby with dirty carpets taped together and peeling paint, it could be so good if better attention was paid to the decor and food quality. I would stay again but only if cheaper than than the Hilton the other 4* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ABRDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us, but felt the quality of the food was not up to expectation. I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef. I do hope that these small issues will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    1,007
    553
    294
    173
See reviews for
772
1,393
90
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

having stayed here for only one night i was very impressed ,i had a room with a sea veiw was worried about road nosie but wasnt a problem ,large room was clean , large bathroom well layed out, some areas of hotel were a bit dated but the staff were very helpful over all a good choice , food was good also as was the beer !

Room Tip: ask for sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

just had our sunday dinner at the palm court in the imperial hotel today. It was £ 7.95 for a carvery which was well worth it which included a glass of sparkling wine. I live in blackpool and went for a long walk on the promenade and decided to try the carvery. Its still a very traditional hotel unfortunately a lot of the downstairs rooms and bars are closed. But the meal we had in the palm court was lovely and fresh and worth every penny. They have a pianist playing and like i said very traditional. Well worth a visit.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
I was delighted to read your comments about Sunday Lunch, which has just been re-introduced at the Hotel, and is proving popular. The rooms you refer to are meeting rooms for conferences and weddings etc., and they are kepy closed when not in use. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed at the Imperial Hotel 7-9 September 2012.

Hotel was lovely, although a bit warm, but nice and clean. The room did not have a sea view as it faced the rear of the building but was really nice and comfortable for the time we spent there.

The location was great with just a short walk to the tower (10-15 mins depending on speed of walk) and a little further to the pleasure beach.

Hotel was booked for a business trip so unfortunately not sure of the amount paid but I am sure it was well worth the money.

The only meals we had was breakfast which was lovely and catered for all diets. Cereal, fruit, continental and english breakfasts. You could really set yourself up for the day and wait until your evening meal.

Hotel was very good and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Usually have room 325 as I need a step in shower due to limited mobility but this was not available however the problem was soon sorted out and we were given an upgrade to the "Churchill Suite" All I can say is "WOW". What a beautiful suite of rooms complete with sea view, even the weather was brilliant. The meals were excellant with plenty of choice, all staff helpful and pleasant. Good car parking at a reasonable £3.50 daily charge. Bus passes enable pensioners to travel free on trams as well as buses Monday to Thursday after 9.30 a.m. even viewing the illuminations by tram. Thank you for a brilliant break. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the "Churchill Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moneypennySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to read that we were able to rectify the room problem efficiently, and you appreciated the grandeur of the Churchill Suite. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,977 reviews
4.4 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,072 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 70 in Blackpool
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
469 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
998 reviews
5.1 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 70 in Blackpool
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,464 - ₹ 24,798
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing