We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of The Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derby Hotel
Ranked #239 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I was dreading it when my other half booked us a weekend in blackpool for a break but I have to say that the owners of the Derby Hotel Tim and Ivan made it a weekend to remember. They made every effort to make us feel at home and we have never laughed so much. The breakfast and evening meals were lovely and the standards of room are very good and most importantly kept very clean. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. We have booked again in the summer with the rest of the family and we cant wait

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
22
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Stayed for two nights as it was close to the Hilton Hotel where we were attending an event. The gentleman that greeted us & cooked our breakfasts was friendly, polite & could not do enough for us. The hotel was comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenya25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Have just come back from 3 nights at the Derby Hotel with friends an had a lovely time. The owners Ivan and Tim are 2 of the most friendliest people you can meet, they will go out of their way to help you. If you dont leave there with a pain in your side from laughing at Ivans tales and stories there must be something wrong. The food is of a top standard, from the large breakfasts to the 4 course evening meal for £5. This is well worth the money, and all home cooked as well. This is one place i can recommend to anyone who wants to visit Blacpool and wants a laugh ..........

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homer7409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

well, what can we say.... the derby hotel is a home away from home, the atmosphere, the home cooked meals, especially the breakfasts which are outstanding, cooked by the one and only ivan, who will bring tears to your eyes with his tales from his life here and in belper, derbyshire where he's originally from. we stayed here for three nights over valentines weekend, in a pine four poster room, it was a perfect choice to relax and unwind, we had several leisurely strolls into blackpool town centre, caught some of the many shows on offer in the tower, and on one day drove for an hour up to lake windermere, thanks ivan and tim for a fantastic weekend, adam and michelle. :-D

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italiano666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

On arrival we was welcomed with a smile, told about keys meal times and facilities at the Derby...Ivan was very helpfull with local information on bus and tram travel. The room was clean and comfortable drink facilities were plentifull and replaced daily, Breakfast was first class (infact better than first class). Park was not a problem as we was aloud to park in The Derbys garage so car safty was not an issue. Will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinhumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
0.5 km away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
1,501 reviews
0.3 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
745 reviews
1.4 km away
The New Osterley Hotel
The New Osterley Hotel
#631 of 856 in Blackpool
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#108 of 856 in Blackpool
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derby Hotel

Property: The Derby Hotel
Address: 2 Derby Road, Blackpool FY1 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,792 - ₹ 4,434
Hotel Class:3 star — The Derby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a warm and frendly hotel north shore in Blackpool just 25 yrs from promenade and a slow nice walk to town centre.We have en-suite,standard,and 4 poster rooms .All our bedrooms are clean and comfortable with fresh towels and linen.Food in the hotel is cooked by how own chef from full english breakfast to 4 course ebening meals,special meals and be arranged.We also have how own little pub bar witch is well stocked and with entertainment some weeks with how own Tim James. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing