We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
90
13
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
13
1
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

this was are second stay at the alvon. trish and john are polite and could do anything more for us, the breakfast was hot and plenty and the alvon is in a great location fot the pier, tower and all the shops.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tonybr1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Hi tony thank you very much for your comment it was good to see you again and we look forward to your next visit,from trish & john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Both me and my hubby stay here every august for the punk festival both Trish and John are the most politest people going n the breakfast is fantastic hot and served with a smile (trish) the room we have is great shower red hot and runs brilliantly tea n coffee in our room too
Been coming now for 6yrs n we still becoming in years to come xx

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi Lynne, thank you so much for your comment about your stay at our hotel like always its a pleasure to have you and shaun stay here time after time we are already looking forward to your next visit in august,take care see you then x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Where could I start?! The room was freezing cold, to the point we had to buy a heater and extra blankets! The bed had a bloody waterproof mattress protector, I don't think I had one of those as child! Breakfast wasn't that great either, we sat for around 5 minutes before offered tea or toast. The hotels owners' friends were also guests and They were served breakfast before us, yet we sat before them! They were also offered a New Year's Day lunch and we weren't as we were told they were not going to food. The hotel owner hovered over us all as we ate breakfast. The shower was no more than a dribble, the decor definitely needs updating! I would definitely not recommend this anyone. It was a terrible stay and ruined our New Years celebrations! Never again!! Wouldn't even let a A dog stay there.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LizzieMareeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

1) well where do I start oh yes from the beginning!!! The hotel heating has been on continuously throughout your stay as we do for all guests umm perhaps you didn't notice the self controlled thermostat on the radiator
2) yes we have waterproof and cotton mattress protector its to do with health & hygiene but then you wouldn't know that as our shower unit has not been used throughout your stay
3)As for breakfast you said to me (trish) I am abit funny with food at the moment as I'm 24 weeks pregnant you asked if it was tinned tomatoes or grilled because you don't like tinned so we gave you fresh grilled tomato instead and as for the other 3 guests they had eaten their cereal you was still eating yours so of course I'm going to give them their English breakfast and as for the pot of tea or coffee it may of been 5 minutes it was probably to do with the fact I was asking you and your other half if you had a good night out that's how polite I am to guests
4) As for dinners Guests have to let us know in advance if they require evening meals when you telephoned to make the booking for new year my partner asked you was it for b&b or b&b and evening meals and you said b&b so that was your choice
5) Its amazing what pregnancy does to the mind, this comment has not by any means made me think OMG what are guests going to think about our hotel because there is another 103 very very good trip advisor reviews to go by and we get a lot of guests that have stayed here before come back time after time "Enough said"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This was the eighth time that we stayed at The New Alvon. This time we was the biggest group we ever been (17 persons) and we stayed for a week in august. It was just as good as always.

Trish and John takes care of everything perfectly. Great food, great rooms, great location in Blackpool. which means that you are close to everything that happens in the city. We will always stay here when we visit Blackpool. Anyone who wants to have a perfect stay in the city should stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mattias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Hi Mattias,thank you so much for your review as again it is always a pleasure to be looking after you and your friends and we will continue to make sure your stay is a very relaxing stay,we look forward to august 2017 x trish & john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Just back from a 4 night break at New Alvon, accomodation very clean and comfy. Food was excellent, large breakfast and wholsome evening meals ( my wife had to ask for smaller potions ). Our room , No 4 had everything in we needed,the only drawback was the room itself was on the small side, although the en suite was quite spacious. Thankyou Trish & John you made us very welcome

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank razer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you so much for leaving a very nice review,it was lovely having you stay with us and we look forward to any future visits,Trish & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews