We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Alvon Hotel
Ranked #432 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My brother and myself had a two night stay as we were going to a Kaiser Chiefs gig at the Empress ballroom. I chose the hotel pretty much at random as the choice of central Blackpool hotels available on the internet is almost overwhelming.
Trish replied to my initial e mail immediately, and once we decided to stay, she phoned me personally to let me know the deposit had arrived safely.
The hotel is ideally situated; just minutes from the seafront, Tower and shops and a 10 minute walk or short taxi ride from the station.
We got there on one of the coldest nights of the year, and we could not have received a warmer welcome.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very warm and cosy (just what we needed after a journey on a freezing cold train from Leeds). We had a twin en suite room - it is only small but there is plenty of room to manouevre and the beds were on opposite sides of the room, unlike some twins where there is literally 6 inches between them!
There were some useful little touches such as pegs to hang our coats rather than having to put them in the wardrobe and little shelves on the wall above the beds to put bits and bobs such as your watch and specs; things that some places tend to overlook. Another good idea was the shelves at the side of the breakfast tables to put the sugar and sauces on stopping the table from getting too cluttered.
The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and well cooked by John one day and Trish the next.
Trish and John were brilliant hosts, really friendly and welcoming. It felt more like we'd been to stay with friends than at a hotel. I've already recommended the new Alvon to three people!
We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Hi Joannne,wow what can i say? john and myself would just like to say thankyou very much for your compliments about us and our hotel,we are glad you enjoyed your first visit and that you will be back again,we have alot of returning guest and we hope it continues,we would love to see you here again sometime in the near future,see you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

we stayed over the weekend my brother and i found it exellent in every way greeted with a smiley face from trish who was confident and very compitent hostess nothing the room was spottless, warm , the shower room was impecable we opted for the 3 course evening meal john was the cook and what a cook chicken done to a tee on friday but saturday was a beef cassarole with dumplings awesome meals served quickley and piping hot extra tee and toast at breakfast allround an great weekend at a very friendly hotel will be there again next year houldsworth bros keighley west yorkshire

Room Tip: rooms at the south side quiet but a quiet location anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Hello Ian,thankyou so much for your lovely compliments,we are glad you and your brother enjoyed your first visit with us and that you will both be very welcome to book in any time with us,guest always compliment john on his cooking,and how nice its presented,and i myself very much enjoy meeting both old and new guests.we look forward to hearing from you end of november for your pigeon weekend booking for next year,who knows may even see you both before then.
Trish&John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My family stayed at this hotel for 5 days in august, it was a lovely place to stay, the people who run the hotel were lovely, it was very child friendly, the food was gorgeous and we would stay there again, thank you very much, karen and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Hi Karen,thankyou very much for your comment,it was a pleasure looking after you all and we very much look forward to your next visit from Trish & John x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Nice BnB , stayed for two nights with a group of friends the place is in a good location centre of Blackpool , Trish is a lovely lady very helpful , looked after our needs , it's not the largest of BnB,s
But would stay there again , food was great , Overall a very nice family run Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindalou50_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thankyou for your comment,it was a pleasure looking after you all again and we very much look forward to your next visit x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Thank you so much Trish and John for making out stay so special. Even my grumpy Dad throughly enjoyed himself. The rooms were lovely and clean and the food was excellent. Looking forward to next year, Rae, Mike and Ron.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thankyou for your comment about your stay at our hotel it was a pleasure to look after you and we very much look forward to your next visit,x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#84 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
1.1 km away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2.8 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Alvon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Alvon Hotel

Address: 112 Coronation Street, Blackpool FY1 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: ₹ 1,274 - ₹ 1,720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and decorative family run bed and breakfast hotel located central blackpool less than 5 minutes walk from the central coach station,blackpool tower,winter gardens,shops, clubs,town centre,most attractions,beach,promenade and only 4 doors from the most popular workingmans club called the H&A. Our rooms range from twin double,single most of which are ensuite have central heating double glazing,flatscreen digital Tv,tea&coffee facilities.we cater for 21 quests couples,families,small groups that are booked through an organisation,sorry no stag or hen groups Our prices are from £20pppn breakfast included optional evening meals are offered midweek (not weekends) We have some excellent Monday to Friday deals b&b or BBEM (contact us for prices as they vary throughout the season) We have a lot of excellent tripadvisor reviews and have just received our 5 star health & hygiene award September 2015. Please get in touch for any kind of inquirey/booking we look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing