We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Alvon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Alvon Hotel
Ranked #422 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My brother and myself had a two night stay as we were going to a Kaiser Chiefs gig at the Empress ballroom. I chose the hotel pretty much at random as the choice of central Blackpool hotels available on the internet is almost overwhelming.
Trish replied to my initial e mail immediately, and once we decided to stay, she phoned me personally to let me know the deposit had arrived safely.
The hotel is ideally situated; just minutes from the seafront, Tower and shops and a 10 minute walk or short taxi ride from the station.
We got there on one of the coldest nights of the year, and we could not have received a warmer welcome.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and very warm and cosy (just what we needed after a journey on a freezing cold train from Leeds). We had a twin en suite room - it is only small but there is plenty of room to manouevre and the beds were on opposite sides of the room, unlike some twins where there is literally 6 inches between them!
There were some useful little touches such as pegs to hang our coats rather than having to put them in the wardrobe and little shelves on the wall above the beds to put bits and bobs such as your watch and specs; things that some places tend to overlook. Another good idea was the shelves at the side of the breakfast tables to put the sugar and sauces on stopping the table from getting too cluttered.
The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice and well cooked by John one day and Trish the next.
Trish and John were brilliant hosts, really friendly and welcoming. It felt more like we'd been to stay with friends than at a hotel. I've already recommended the new Alvon to three people!
We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi Joannne,wow what can i say? john and myself would just like to say thankyou very much for your compliments about us and our hotel,we are glad you enjoyed your first visit and that you will be back again,we have alot of returning guest and we hope it continues,we would love to see you here again sometime in the near future,see you soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    13
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
34
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

we stayed over the weekend my brother and i found it exellent in every way greeted with a smiley face from trish who was confident and very compitent hostess nothing the room was spottless, warm , the shower room was impecable we opted for the 3 course evening meal john was the cook and what a cook chicken done to a tee on friday but saturday was a beef cassarole with dumplings awesome meals served quickley and piping hot extra tee and toast at breakfast allround an great weekend at a very friendly hotel will be there again next year houldsworth bros keighley west yorkshire

Room Tip: rooms at the south side quiet but a quiet location anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hello Ian,thankyou so much for your lovely compliments,we are glad you and your brother enjoyed your first visit with us and that you will both be very welcome to book in any time with us,guest always compliment john on his cooking,and how nice its presented,and i myself very much enjoy meeting both old and new guests.we look forward to hearing from you end of november for your pigeon weekend booking for next year,who knows may even see you both before then.
Trish&John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My family stayed at this hotel for 5 days in august, it was a lovely place to stay, the people who run the hotel were lovely, it was very child friendly, the food was gorgeous and we would stay there again, thank you very much, karen and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Hi Karen,thankyou very much for your comment,it was a pleasure looking after you all and we very much look forward to your next visit from Trish & John x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Nice BnB , stayed for two nights with a group of friends the place is in a good location centre of Blackpool , Trish is a lovely lady very helpful , looked after our needs , it's not the largest of BnB,s
But would stay there again , food was great , Overall a very nice family run Hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindalou50_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thankyou for your comment,it was a pleasure looking after you all again and we very much look forward to your next visit x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Thank you so much Trish and John for making out stay so special. Even my grumpy Dad throughly enjoyed himself. The rooms were lovely and clean and the food was excellent. Looking forward to next year, Rae, Mike and Ron.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14teadybear, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thankyou for your comment about your stay at our hotel it was a pleasure to look after you and we very much look forward to your next visit,x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.1 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#349 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#450 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Alvon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Alvon Hotel

Property: The New Alvon Hotel
Address: 112 Coronation Street, Blackpool FY1 4QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,308 - ₹ 1,766
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean and decorative family run bed and breakfast hotel located central blackpool less than 5 minutes walk from the central coach station,blackpool tower,winter gardens,shops, clubs,town centre,most attractions,beach,promenade and only 4 doors from the most popular workingmans club called the H&A. Our rooms range from twin double,single most of which are ensuite have central heating double glazing,flatscreen digital Tv,tea&coffee facilities.we cater for 21 quests couples,families,small groups that are booked through an organisation,sorry no stag or hen groups Our prices are from £20pppn breakfast included optional evening meals are offered midweek (not weekends) We have some excellent Monday to Friday deals b&b or BBEM (contact us for prices as they vary throughout the season) We have a lot of excellent tripadvisor reviews and have just received our 5 star health & hygiene award September 2015. Please get in touch for any kind of inquirey/booking we look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing