We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
548
302
158
64
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
548
302
158
64
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackpool promotionssea bankdining staffcabaret barnext yearsea viewfourth floorgreat entertainmentgreat holidaysuperior roommy mumentertainment every nighthotel staffcant waitbreakfast and dinnerbar pricesfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Well this was a Blackpool promotion Fri/Mon dbb.
Absolutely far too hot for people with lung disease & mobility issues also unsuitable being placed upon the 4th floor (422)especially when asked for a lower floor.
Meals are very small.
Service was excellent though.
WiFi reception was absolutely poor in this day and age.
Lifts are far too small as only 2 people at a time which I found strange especially when u consider weight of both people & luggage.
Room was clean & tidy.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Roger,

Thank you for the review on your Friday to Monday stay with us.

We are sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied. We do kindly ask guests to please mention at the time of booking of any mobility issues so the best possible room is allocated for your needs. Please note however we ask that all guests be able to manage a flight of stairs – this is displayed on your booking confirmation received prior to your holiday. Requests for certain floors and rooms can be made however these are not guaranteed, our team will always try their best however to accommodate.

In reference to the heat – due to the very mild temperatures as of late, we do understand it can get warm in guest bedrooms, the recent heatwave is very unusual for Blackpool – however to help combat this, all guest bedrooms have fans within.

In regards to our food – the Royal Seabank is one of Blackpool’s most popular hotels and usually receives excellent feedback on the wonderful food and service delivered, portion size is set by chef however should guests require a larger portion / extra items, please speak with a member of our restaurant team who will be more than happy to accommodate. We are very pleased that you found our staff particularly in the restaurant to be extremely efficient and helpful, we will pass on your kind feedback.

Guest WIFI is free and available in our café bar, connection / download speeds are dependent on the time of day and the amount of users – we do apologise for any inconvenience caused by poor connectivity.

With reference to our lifts – these comfortably accommodate 2 persons at a time which is sufficient for the size of hotel and the amount of guests staying.

Thank you for the kind words on your room – we are happy you found it to be very clean and comfortable. We do have various room types on offer including low floor Premier rooms (for a small supplement) which may be more suited to you for a future holiday with ourselves?

We do thank you for your review, guest feedback is very important to us and we hope you will consider the Royal Hotels again in the future,

Best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This is an extremely hospitable hotel,on the sea front, with a large outside seating area to enjoy the view, especially sunset All the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We booked superior rooms, which were extremely clean with a modern decor, although not as spacious as expected. An English breakfast, although very good, was served to the table,which included a daily chef's choice extra portion. We all prefer a self service breakfast and felt that guest's should choose their own extra portion. There was a cabaret ballroom and entertainment each evening which was very good. Some of the jokes, however, by the compare were quite outdated in today's political climate. The star of the show for my husband and I was Heather, the lovely lady doing room service. She was so helpful and caring and made sure we always had everything that we needed. It makes such a difference, and we feel that she should be recognized for this. Thank you Heather See you next year

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Brendan,

many thanks for the excellent review on your recent holiday.

Hearing you had such a fabulous time with us really made us smile.

Thank you for the comments on our staff. The Royal Seabank is well known for the excellent friendly service delivered so it's great you found the team to be extremely friendly and helpful - notably Heather your room attendant who i'm sure will be very pleased with your kind comments.

We're also happy you enjoyed the fabulous food on offer at breakfast time, thank you for the feedback - guest comments are extremely important to us as it is through comments we monitor so we can improve in the future.

In regards to our entertainment - It's great to learn you ventured to our nightly entertainment. We provide some of the best live cabaret in Blackpool with 2 live artists, bingo and resident compere - it's brilliant you enjoyed however we will pass on your comments to our compere regarding the old material as we endeavour to deliver the very best in live entertainment.

It's wonderful to hear you will be returning again in 2019, thank you once again for the lovely review
and best wishes from the team

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Nice friendly ppl, close to seafront and easy to walk from to attractions. Was pleased we was in a triple bed room which didnt have a seaview instead we got the view of old buildings. My nan has a stick and walker we where on the 4th floor and the lift could only got 2 ppl at a time. Bed room had 2 plug sockets even doh there was a tv 2 lamps and a fan to fit in. Felt like I disappointed my nan as she really wanted a nice 2 day break.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sharlene,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

We are sorry to hear you are not fully satisfied with your recent holiday at the Royal Seabank.

Our location is fabulous and one of the many great reasons why the Royal Seabank is so popular, being close to many of Blackpool’s excellent attractions so it’s great you found us ideal.

In reference to your room – we are sad this wasn’t to your expectations, requests for low floors can be made at the time of booking however unfortunately requests cannot be guaranteed, we do kindly ask guests to please make reception aware immediately of any issues whatsoever so they can be rectified there and then. Seaview and Premier rooms carry a small supplement, however should you have notified staff of your dissatisfaction – another more suitable room may have been offered subject to availability as a resolution, it may have also been possible to upgrade to a Seaview whilst at the hotel – however unfortunately notifying us after your holiday does not give us / management the opportunity to make right and ensure your stay is the best it can be.

With regards to our lifts – these comfortably accommodate 2 persons at a time which is perfectly adequate for the size of hotel and number of guests staying, we do however understand that at busy intervals prior to dinner / breakfast there may be a slight wait time – we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

In regards to plug sockets in your room – we thank you for bringing matters to our attention, should you have made reception aware at the time we may have allocated an extension for extra power supplies. This will be passed onto our maintenance team for investigation.

We do hope that you and your grandmother are not deterred from staying with us again in the future as we value your custom very much,

Best wishes and thank you once again for the invaluable feedback,

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We just had a lovely stay at the Royal Seabank last week. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially the waiting staff who dealt with my daughter's "nothing must touch on my plate" obsession with good humour, well done. The rooms were clean and had good facilities, we had 3 rooms for our group and the rooms did vary greatly in size from large and comfortable to small and quite cramped. The only problem we had was the lifts which were totally inadequate for the size of the hotel and the amount of people with mobility problems. One of them broke down at least 3 times during our stay and they only held 2 people. We had 3 in our group who had problems walking up 4 flights of stairs when this happened. Overall we had a great holiday and would definitely consider this hotel again as long as we were on a lower floor.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaynerhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jayner,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent holiday.

We are so happy you had a wonderful time on holiday at the Royal Seabank, and it's great all of our staff made you feel so welcome and looked after you during your time with us.. especially the team in our restaurant!

We are very pleased you found your room to be extremely clean with good facilities. In reference to the size of your rooms: Our rooms are not identical in floor space unfortunately, we do have various room types on offer at the Royal Seabank including lovely Seaview and Premier rooms which offer a little more luxury for a small supplement - these may be something to consider for a future holiday with ourselves.

In regards to the lift, these comfortably accommodate 2 persons at a time and are perfectly adequate for the size of hotel and number of guests staying, we do understand however there may be a slight wait time during very busy periods such as prior to dinner and breakfast however this is usually not too long. During the period in which you stayed our lift did require an engineer, this issue was beyond our control and was rectified as soon as possible, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We hope you will choose us again for a future holiday with ourselves. many thanks for the wonderful feedback.

All the very best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Just back from a weekend stay at this hotel, had a great time. We upgraded to a sea view room. (Room 401). Great room, great view, bed very comfy and great size. Room was cleaned daily and towels changed every day. All hotel staff were fab, waiting staff, reception staff, bar staff, Niall the young lad who was working late Friday night was a star, very pleasant and well mannered. Breakfast and evening meals were lovely, plenty of choice. Entertainment was fantastic. My husband and I will def be back. Well done to all the staff and thanks again for a fantastic weekend break.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aileen1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Aileen,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such great feedback on your stay with us.

The team are thrilled you had a wonderful holiday at the Royal Seabank, and it's really great to hear you were so comfortable in your lovely seaview room. With superb views of the Irish sea and promenade below, they really are lovely and worth the little extra supplement to upgrade - we're also happy you found the room to be extremely clean! Thank you for the great feedback.

The staff and management at the Royal Seabank all strive for excellent service with a smile so we're pleased you were well looked after during your time with us. We will pass on your very kind words to the team.

The food at the Royal Seabank also receives many wonderful comments from returning guests and is one of the many fabulous reasons why we are so popular, we are delighted you enjoyed the food on offer and that you found there to be ample choice.

Featuring some of the finest live cabaret in Blackpool along with bingo and disco nightly, we provide some of the best entertainment on the Fylde Coast so it's great you got to see the fantastic live entertainment whilst with us.

It was a pleasure looking after you, we do hope you will visit us again in the near future,

best wishes from us all

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews