We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as good as the reviews”
Review of Norwood Hotel

Norwood Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norwood Hotel
Ranked #635 of 852 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not as good as the reviews”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I always read Trip Advisor customer reviews and find I never need to complain about my hotel /restaraunt choices!!! .However we arrived early Fri evening and the impression of the Norwood looked cosy and welcoming,given its boast of CLEANLINESS and good food it was a heaven magnet for me..OMG!!!.On entering is was spoilt by the smell of stale cigarettes in the hotel hall way.Check in was quick and we were immediately asked to settle the balance (big mistake)especially as the man had left the building so cash was easier to accept rather than credit card payment even before checking out our room for acceptance.Having been shown to our Room 5 attic 'En-Suite Triple Room' at the top of the house...Even the dim bedroom light exposed the open holes in the dorma wall ,dirty gaping space between the bordered wall and window ledge, hairy ,dusty skirtings behind bed and carpet edges NOT to mention the hole in the duvet cover...In a rush to see the illuminations and not spoil the fun for our daughter we tried in vain to find alternative accomodation,but given that hoteliers operate a two day stay only option-we opted to cut our loses and depart Saturday.The web site photos look brill ,thats why we liked it too.I received a call earlier to ask why we left early, I explained rather than confront in front of breakfast guests we left.The owner was suprised hopefully if he WILL TRY THIS ROOM OUT HIMSELF and take the comments on board..ive taken photos if u need....otherwise cracking location.!

Room Tip: see before you buy...many advertise this now/
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwoodblackpool, Owner at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thankyou for your feedback. I am dissapointed you did not enjoy your stay at the Norwood.
However to go through your comments, firstly regarding payment, anybody can pay by cash or card upon arival at the hotel, just because i had nipped out would not have made any difference to your payment method, customers paying by card saves us a trip to the bank.
Regarding the smell of smoke in the hallway this is not true. The norwood is a non smoking hotel throughout, we do have a smoking area outside for guests at the front of the hotel but inside we fully comply with the law and it is strictly no smoking in ALL areas.
As regards the hole in the duvet there are 2 slits in the top of the duvet one at each side so the cleaners can change the duvets quickly and easily they are suposed to be there, if it was someware else it must have been missed by the cleaner (why would we put a duvet on with a hole in) but as you did not bring this to my attention i cant say, but i can say that all linen is freshly laundered and delivered direct to us weekly by a specialist company and if they have delivered one with a hole in i would have liked to know so i could have kept it seperate when i sent back the dirty laundry.
As for your room i spoke to you at breakfast time and you said absolutley nothing to me regarding any issues or problems with your room, and from what you have said about the room if there was so many issues anybody would have brought it to my attention, even if they had of waited until after breakfast time or asked for a quiet word, as if you had of done any genuine problems you had would have been addressed and rectified straight away or we could have moved you to a different room.
As regards the border paper unfortunatly this is true one of the previous familys children had pulled it away and although we stuck it back there is still a small gap and we will have to re decorate that corner of the room, but this is a minor issue in one of the corners behind the bed and it certainly would not have affected your stay with us and like i said we could have moved you to another room if it was bothering you.
The 2 nights bed and breakfast stay you booked with us at only £18 per person per night in peak season offers fantastic value for money, and you were quite welcome to view the room first had you have just asked and if you wasnt 100% happy or didnt think it was worth £18 each per night including a full english breakfast we would have refunded your money straight away.
As for you wanting to book into a different hotel and having no look, that weekend they were lots of local hotels with vacancies signs on who would have quite happily booked you a last minute one night stay without any problems.
We have had many many happy guests who have stayed with us and come back to us as our previous reviews confirm.
Any body who books with us are quite welcome to view there room upon arival before checking in to see if they are happy with it. We have many people who ask to do this already and this is not a problem for us as we are confident our hotel and rooms offer excellent value for money.
The photos of the hotel and the rooms on our website are from inside the hotel and are not there to mislead anybody, the photos are taken from inside the rooms and bar area so you can see the decor and facilities you are getting.
i would hope any future guests will read all our reviews and not just this one as this is not a true reflection of the norwood hotel.
In conclusion like i have said you should have brought any issues straight away to my attention and this could have been very quickly and easily resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

loved everything about the norwood hotel very friendly and very clean always willing to please there guests definatly book again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel whilst visiting Blackpool for a few days and found it to be excellent value. Stuart made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him. The room was very clean and had all the facilities we needed for two nights including our own en-suite. The location is between the Tower and Pleasure Beach, and a 2 minute walk to the Promenade. Breakfast was delicious - he even had Quorn sausages for a vegetarian breakfast in the morning which was no problem at all!

Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone who wants a good value hotel in Blackpool with a warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njd26_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Good location, walking distance to prom, amusements etc. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Family run and couldn,t of done more for us, they were all good company. Best breakfasts ever!! We have a boy aged 9 and a girl aged 12 and both would love to go back. Bar area is well equiped and drinks are reasonable as was the whole stay.

Room Tip: we had a double room and adjoining room with bunks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixonEngeeGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We found this was in a good location and not a long walk from attractions but far enough to get a good nights sleep without hearing pubs clubs etc, upon arrival felt very welcomed. We have a young baby so had pram etc which we was helped upstairs with, very clean and tidy as was the room and everything was spot on. Breakfast was very nice ,well cooked and not greasy, prices also very good on drinks. They also allow you to bring takeaways back as long as you eat it in the dining area and even provide plates and cutlery, there is also a pool table which is well maintained and a flat screen tv ,also free wi-fi. We would definitely recommend it and will go again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foeyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 km away
The Norwood Hotel
The Norwood Hotel
#340 of 852 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.4 km away
The Norwood Hull Road
The Norwood Hull Road
#25 of 852 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 852 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#91 of 125 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
1.0 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#324 of 852 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Property: Norwood Hotel
Address: 185 Lytham Road, Blackpool FY1 6EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 852 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwood Hotel is situated on Lytham Road approx 200 yards from the promenade. We are between central and south piers so we are ideally situated for the pleasure beach, tower, sandcastle, casino, football ground and all other Blackpool attractions. All our rooms have central heating, all are en-suite and have Wi-Fi, hospitality trays and freeview TV. We offer a full English breakfast to start your day along with a choice of cereals, tea, coffee, juice, toast and preserves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing