We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place”
other travellers have booked this property
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Enjoy a free glass of bubbly on the private Jetty Windermere:Private jetty 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Enjoy a free glass of bubbly on the private Jetty
Windermere:Private jetty 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Lakeland Heart
A blend of old and new
Solid Oak Howdens Kitchen
On the way to the shore....
The Way through the woods...
Romance:Enjoy the View and a Picnic for Two
The Path to Easedale Tarn from Grasmere a favourite haunt of the Wordsworths
Easedale Tarn - a place for Poets
Easedale Tarn near Grasmere ( About 10 miles drive or Bus 555 to Grasmere and Walk)
Sit outside and enjoy the Views
Windermere Sunset taken from the property
Open-plan Living Room with oak floor
Snuggle up and enjoy the View
A Room with a View
Howdens Kitchen or the Miller Howe  world-famous restaurant just down the road-  eat in or out ....
Laura Ashley Bedroom with Kingsize bed NB There is only ONE Bedroom
Private path to the Lake
Relax with romantic Lakeland Poetry
Room with a View for Two
Laura Ashley Bedroom,
Kitchen with a View of the Lake
Shower, Basin, WC, Heated Towel Rail, Slate floor
Parking next to the property with a view of the Lake
View from the Private Jetty
Laura Ashley Bedroom
King-Size Bed.
Private path down to the Lake....
View from the house
Autumnal walk to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn
Stroll down to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn Colours close to the cottage
Autumn in the Lake District - awash with colour
Ancient and Modern
Relax with a book
The Lady of the Lake a romantic poem by Sir Walter Scott
The Lady of the Lake
A Room with a View
Snow on the hills at sunset.
Rocio, one of our Spanish guests, admiring the Sunset on the Private jetty
Photo taken from the Private Jetty
Sunset on the Shore  - a short stroll from the cottage
Park right by The Lady of the Lake.
A Room with a View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonW20202...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Does what it says on the tin. Cottage has everything you need for a stay in the Lake District. It is close to all local amenities but also set back in a peaceful area.
Awesome view of the lake. Very quiet and tranquil area. Private jetty is technically private but not exclusively to you, it is shared with the surrounding cottages.
You can walk into Windermere by going right out of the cottage, it's a brisk 20 mins away but the views along the way are great.
Chris also cannot be more helpful. We didn't meet but the instructions to get in are very straight forward. Chris was even nice enough to post back a couple of items my partner left which we got the next day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you for your Wonderful Review - it is a great help to fellow travellers especially as - your description was spot on. So sorry we didn't get to meet you but hope that one day you will both return. Thank you .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahKilt...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home with beautiful views and a perfect location.”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic couple of nights staying in this lovely holiday home. The place itself has everything that you could wish for: a comfortable bed, warm shower, kitchen and lovely views.

The location of the property was perfect for us being a 20 minute walk into Windermere and 5-10 minute drive to Bowness and Ambleside.

Chris ensured that we had all the information we needed and communication throughout the whole booking was excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for this super Review and THANK YOU for leaving our place immaculate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth E
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My partner booked this cottage as a surprise for my birthday.

We arrived at night due to both being at work during the day, so as well as being surprised by the trip itself I was also pleasantly surprised the next morning when I saw we had a beautiful view of the lake!

Christine, the owner, was there to greet us and she was very welcoming and friendly. Very informative, suggesting lots of things around the area to see and do, as well as places to eat. She had also put birthday banners around the living area for me.

The cottage itself is lovely, very modern and beautifully decorated! The kitchen is well equipt with everything you'll need if you're going self-catering, pans, plates, cutlery, oven, fridge freezer, microwave...everything really!

The cottage is also ideally located, a 5 minute car journey to Bowness where we enjoyed a lovely boat trip around the lake.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thanks for your super and informative Review. Very many thanks for leaving our cottage immaculate. It was a pleasure to meet such a lovely couple. Glad you took the Lake Cruise. Windermere is sometimes called "Little Switzerland" - possibly nicer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucky find!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first time staying in a holiday rental rather than a hotel/B&B and we couldn't have been happier. Christine and James provided detailed directions but they were hardly needed as the turning is very easy to find off a couple of main roads.
The cottage itself is a hidden gem set far away from the road with an amazing view of the lake. The decoration and general atmosphere of the cottage allowed us to feel at home very quickly and there were helpful notes dotted all around to help us work everything.

It should be noted that whilst the jetty is private with regards to there not being public access though it's not private to this cottage alone. This cottage is just one of a small group which also have access. It's a lovely walk down to the lake though and a nice place to sit and watch the boats go by.

It was only a short drive to the town centre and also Bowness where there are plenty of attractions and a lake cruise to take you to other shores of Windermere (highly recommend)

The only downside I can think of is the interior doors are a bit stiff so took a bit of effort (and consequently - noise) to shut the bathroom door especially.
Other than that I cannot fault this holiday at all. Loved the location, the facilities were high standard and well designed. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Windermere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cozy atmosphere
Liked least: Stiff/noisy interior doors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thanks for your super Review - we hope to see you on your next trip to Windermere. Kind regards C&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous setting and just what we wanted in a cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We could not have asked for a better venue for our wedding/honeymoon getaway.

The views and the piece and quiet were just what we wanted, and Chris and James were kind enough to leave the cottage ready for us with a few essentials for us to have a cup of tea when we arrived, before venturing out.

I just wish we had the time to spend longer there!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The small touches like leaving milk and butter ready for us was a huge help!
Liked least: It might have been nice for some wifi to research places to go if we were there longer, but actually for us, the break from the technology was wonderful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
We wish you both every happiness - you didn't mention it was a honeymoon - or we would have put up banners and confetti...!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing