We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beckmead Guest House
Ranked #40 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
2 reviews
“Lovely little guest house”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We are a couple both aged 38 who were away for the bank holiday weekend an this is our review.Beckmede guest house is excellent, the location is great, a lovely walk (about a mile) to the centre of windermere, but a nice quiet area, so still out of the way to enjoy the peace and quiet.
The room we stayed in was clean and tidy with everything you needed it was tidied on a daily basis, the food was excellent lovely breakfasts to start you on your day. The people were lovely from the moment we walked through the door they were very helpful, polite, smartly dressed and professional at all times. We were very happy with our whole experience at Beckmede house and will definatly be returning. Clare & Wayne April 2012

Room Tip: We would definatly recommend Beckmede House Because of its location and the friendlyness of the hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just returned from a weekend break at this B&B. Whilst not having on site car parking the on street parking is adequate. The location for Windermere town centre is close and within easy walking distance and Bowness just a mile walk away is ideal. Buses are close to hand should you wish not to walk with a regular service throughout the day.
What makes this friendly B&B stand out other than the obvious cleanliness and relaxed and friendly manner of the owners is the little extras not normally found even in some 3 and 4 star hotels! For example when was the last time you stayed in a B&B or Hotel where face cloths were provided?
I should not forget to mention the wonderful Breakfast which will set you up for the day.
This is one B&B I would recommend and shall return to.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Lovely clean rooms, tasty breakfast lots of choice excellent service

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

A last minute decision to stay overnight and virtually every other hotel booked, we stumbled upon this little gem of a B&B. We we made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. The room was extremely clean and in excellent order. We were given a key and told to come and go as we pleased. Both the owners were lovely even their young son helped out at breakfast, to help pay for his new "i phone" i hope he's managed to get it now, he did his parents proud! By the way, the breakfast was superb. I have no intentions of staying anywhere else on our next visit to Windemere.
John & Susan - Durham

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john1susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Once again, another perfect stay at Beckmead House. Tilly and Phil have carried on the traditions laid down by their Aunt Dorothy and provided a first class welcome for us and our young son. Rooms were clean and warm and the breakfast was first class. We will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneG12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 km away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 km away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 km away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#12 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#11 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 km away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 km away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#50 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckmead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckmead Guest House

Property: Beckmead Guest House
Address: 5 Park Avenue, Windermere LA23 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,076 - ₹ 7,822
Hotel Class:4 star — Beckmead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beckmead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckmead Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing