We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location & spotlessly clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good central location & spotlessly clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights earlier this week, fab B&B that was impeccably clean, very pleased with my choice. I received a warm welcome on arrival from Phillipa & the tea much appreciated. The B&B is on the main road between Bowness & Windermere but as mentioned in a previous review its hardly the M6 & I slept with the windows open with no problems or disturbance. The only thing I would have changed about my stay & the reason it hasn't got an excellent rating from me) is if I had stayed more than a couple of nights I think my room on the top floor would have become quite claustrophobic due to the slope of the ceiling & the huge bed.

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the small side but ok if only staying a couple of nights with not much luggage & yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    31
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
485
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wigan, england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights for our mini-moon in room 14, great room with balcony, comfy bed and fantastic bathroom with underfloor heating and a LCD tv you can watch whilst relaxing in the bath. The breakfast was exceptional and the hosts extremely friendly and helpful. The guest house was in a perfect location approx 10 minutes walk from both Windermere and bowness. If you are looking to stay in a top class guest house with fabulous service and comfort don't hesitate to book the hawksmoor. Top notch!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peloee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

From the minute we stepped through the door we were made to feel welcome. The B&B is very well maintained and clean and our room was lovely. Location was also spot on and the breakfast was excellent. Would recommend to anyone with an added bonus that they were gay friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night - a Saturday in February. It is very hard to fault the place. The welcome was warm and our room was ready even though we arrived early. We were offered freshly made tea and coffee - not a big thing maybe, but increasingly unusual and always welcome. It looked as if the room had been refurbished recently. It was certainly of a high standard with a big, comfortable bed and good quality furniture including two arm chairs in the bay window. The bathroom was better than many expensive hotels I've stayed in - clean, stylish and with underfloor heating, which was a nice touch. Breakfast was tasty and, I think, cooked to order. Other points in favour - large car park and handy location on the Bowness side of Windermere. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had Room 4, which although facing the road was quiet, spacious, very well presented and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Absolutely loved the stay here! Great room (Room 1), just like the pictures on the website. Very tastefully furnished. Great hosts and sumptuous breakfast (vegetarian friendly). Will surely stay here the next time we visit Windermere. Hosts went the extra mile to provide a great stay. Reached at 10 in the night and still were offered tea. We were offered a place to leave our bags (after checkout) till we got our train in the evening.

Good location as this is equidistant from both Windermere and Bowness.

We went to Windermere for a relaxing weekend break and got just that from Hawksmoor :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anambiar0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.8 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.5 km away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#8 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,921 - ₹ 8,839
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ostrovok and Booking.com so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing