We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Really worth a visit and enjoy a Pimms and Michelin standard food on the lawn of this gorgeous historic hotel. Surprisingly affordable prices for excellent food and service! I visited for dinner and drinks with my friends and we were really looked after very well

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank pbw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDCHManager, Manager at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for coming to dine with us.

The Head Chef Calvin and the rest of the team are extremely talented and will be delighted to hear your feedback regarding your dinner with us and will thrive from such positive comments. They work very hard to produce interesting and tasty dishes.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the team who will be so pleased to hear how well you were looked after.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Albert Waldon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Cragwood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We were delighted with Cragwood from the first time we set foot in it during our search for a wedding venue last year. What sold it to us was the stunning lake view and gardens. We desperately wanted to get married outside in the lovely gazebo, surrounded by our close family and friends (32 in all) with a quartet playing in the background. However to our dismay it rained and rained for most of the day, but despite this we had the most delightful wedding ceremony inside and later during a dry spell, we managed to have a trip on the lake which we kept as a surprise to our guests following drinks and photographs. From the moment my then partner and I arrived the day before our wedding, we were delighted with the whole team of staff working towards making our day special. The hotel manager was so professional and thoughtful not only to us but to every one of our guests, nothing was too much trouble. Stacie, Tom and the rest of the team worked so hard and all we had to do was to leave everything in their capable hands. I have to say the food was superb; we had chosen a 5 course menu and wanted it to be special and it certainly was. I would have no hesitation in recommending this fantastic, beautiful venue and its staff if you are thinking of having your wedding ceremony here. I wish we could do it all over again. Thank you to all staff at Cragwood. Dawn & John xx

Room Tip: Bridal suite room 16 was slightly bigger than bridal suite room 1, but room 1 had the better view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IzzyDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDCHManager, Manager at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are so pleased that your wedding day was such a delight. Cragwood is certainly in the most idyllic setting for your perfect day and no matter the weather the views and grounds can always be enjoyed by everyone! There is always a chance to get outside at least at one point during any day. We are also very lucky to have our own jetty for a Lake Cruise and we are pleased you got to make use of this.

Working in such a beautiful place certainly helps keep the staff smiling and makes all of our jobs easier and I will be sure to pass your feedback on to Stacey, Tom and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cragwood in the future.

Kind Regards,

Albert Waldon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Have to say Albert and the team where amazing and an example to other hotels nothing was too much trouble food was amazing my new wife and I got married at Cragwood County House Hotel and would recommend this place not only for the elopement wedding package but the hotel in general (just need to change the green bathroom suit in room one )
Look forward to revisiting to celebrate our first year of marriage next July.

Big thanks to Albert and the whole team
Regards
Mark & Tracy

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rammieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDCHManager, Manager at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

We are all delighted that your Just Us wedding was perfect!

It is always a pleasure for myself and the staff here at Cragwood to receive such positive feedback and certainly makes us thrive to be even better. I will be sure to pass your feedback on the to the rest of the team who I know will be so appreciative.

We look forward to welcoming you back next July to celebrate your first anniversary.

Kind Regards,

Albert Waldon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during July.
Staff are friendly, but possibly too familiar. Not always around when you need them.
Food was enjoyable, but slightly over priced.

The rooms are a good size and have the majority of facilities that you need.
No iron in the room (for a 'hotel' - something that I would have expected)

I was a just a bit confused by it all.
The surroundings are formal / hotel - but everything else that comes with it just doesn't match.

Probably seems a bit picky, but reviews are bound to bring mixed opinions.

Anyway , was the right place to base ourselves for our short stay.
We met a great couple who had their own quiet wedding (just them) and we felt fortunate to spend a couple of hours with them chatting, laughing and joking on the evening of their wedding.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We've just returned from a wonderful few days at Cragwood, I cannot recommend the staff and hotel highly enough. We had an intimate wedding there (ourselves and 7 guests) and it was perfect. The room was beautiful, they even put Star Wars and frozen bedding on for the kids when we arrived. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating, the food was amazing and the grounds and views are breathtaking. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vrwindle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDCHManager, Manager at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review!

We are so pleased that your wedding day was perfect for you and your seven guests and we are happy the children enjoyed the Star Wars and Frozen bedding.

Thank you very much for your recommendation regarding all aspects of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cragwood in future... perhaps for your wedding anniversary!

Kind Regards,

Albert Waldon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
3.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 km away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.9 km away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
8.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 9,947 - ₹ 13,960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing