We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our party arrived at The Briery Wood on Saturday 7th April at 10 o'clock. We were attending a wedding nearby and had set off early in case the traffic was bad. Unsure what our wecolme would be at such an early hour for check in we approached reception with trepidation. We need not have worried. Jennifer couldnt have been more welcoming and friendly. She even managed to rustle up bacon butties for everyone!! In fact all the staff were helpful and friendly. After a quick turn round we were able to access all the rooms before we set off for the wedding at 11.45. What a difference that made to our day. The rooms were clean and very comfortable.Would definitely recommend the hotel.
Thanks again to Jennifer!
Note to self. Remember glasses when trying to operate door code at 1am!!
PS. My daughter found her phone charger! But many thanks again to the gentleman on reception for offering to return it if you found it later.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mal158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you mal 158 for your kind review of the Briery Wood. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Although we cannot guarantee that our rooms will be ready for check-in until 2pm, we try our best to help guests who require an earlier check-in. We understand how helpful this can be, especially for those of our guests attending weddings. I'm really pleased that we were able to help all of you to check in as soon as possible.
Our housekeeping team works very hard to keep our hotel clean, whilst adding those little comforting touches to our rooms.
We enjoy making our guests as comfortable & relaxed as possible - we take a genuine interest in providing a great level of customer service to everyone. It makes us smile to know we've done a good job & that our guests enjoy staying with us.
Thank you once again for your review, we hope to welcome you all back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards, Jennifer Braithwaite, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    164
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
88
338
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Briery Wood Hotel for two nights and found the staff very welcoming and friendly. Our room was both clean and provided a lovely view of the grounds. The hotel was quiet and provided a perfect get away. It was so lovely to return in an evening to a real fire in one of the hotel lounges and to benefit from using the free WiFi. It would appear that a few areas of the hotel would benefit from re decoration and new carpets, but overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Bill_Vanessa,
Thank you for your review of the Briery Wood Hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken to do so & your comments help us to improve our service to our guests.
Here at the Briery Wood we pride ourselves on our warm & friendly welcome. We know that it is always nice to see a smiling face at the end of a journey.
Our grounds are beautiful at this time of year, with the spring flowers beginning to bloom & lots of wildlife to spot. Our gardener takes great pride in his work - it is great to hear you like it too.
Our real log fire keeps the cold at bay throughout these chilly months & our free wifi keeps our guests in touch with the outside world...should they wish :)
All of our communal areas, along with our bedrooms, are on a rolling programme of refurbishment & redecoration. Our maintenance & housekeeping teams work every day to improve these areas & keep them clean. Your comments on this have been noted & will be passed on to the relevant people.
Again, thank you for your comments, we are glad you had a lovely stay & look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
With kind regards, Jennifer Braithwaite, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

only left this morning! but had to leave this review! stayed here last minute after getting a cheap room on late rooms and i must say i was pleasantly surprised, i received a lovely welcome after i had been aided by the hotel in finding the place, the postcode on there adress doesnt take you to the hotel they have an alternative sat nav one! the room was spacious and spotless! a lovely big bath and comfy bed! the surroundings were very peaceful and calm. breakfast in the morning was lovely! staff very attentive and couldn't do enough to help, breakfast itself was delicious. as i was travelling alone it was nice to be engaged in conversation where possible. i would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay! thanks again to all the staff for making me feel so at home! :D

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katehappykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Katehappykate,
Thank you for your kind review - to do it on the same day is dedication!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Every new review gives us big smiles at the comments we receive.
We have some great rates available during the quieter times of year, whilst still offering the high standards of service & cleanliness that our guests have come to expect from us.
All of our staff appreciate your kind comments - we know the kind of service we would appreciate when staying in a hotel, so try to meet & exceed our own expectations, as well as those of our guests. We are genuinely interested in the people who stay with us & love to have a good old chat with them!
I'm pleased that you also enjoyed your Briery Breakfast - as I've said before, it really does set you up for the day!
Once again, thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
With kind regards, Jennifer Braithwaite, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

An off season visit, we were one of the only guests. Well priced, quiet and a generous sized room. TV WiFi etc with well appointed bathroom. We opted for the dinner/bed/breakfast offer. Food was fabulous! Staff warm & helpful. Could use a bit of an upgrade on decor, but would recommend to friends

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travillinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your review Travillinman, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your views.
During the Winter months, the area can be quieter, giving us the opportunity to offer some great special deals for those staying at The Briery Wood - we are pleased you found us well priced.
We try our best to appoint our rooms in a way our guests appreciate, whether that is with our eco-friendly bathroom products, complimentary TV & Wi-Fi or sweeties.
Chef works very hard to ensure the quality of food is the highest possible throughout each day & all of our team enjoy helping our guests to enjoy their stay to the fullest.
We are really glad you enjoyed you stay here with us at the Briery Wood and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
With kind regards, Jennifer Braithwaite, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

It is an old fashioned country house, but is clean and well equiped. Staff could not be more helpful and the food and bar are great.. it is a beautiful peaceful location where rest and reaxation are possible. it is situated between Windermere and Ambleside giving you easy access to lakeland fells the lake etc

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nev666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for your review nev666, your comments are really appreciated.
We try our hardest to fulfill guest expectations and I'm pleased you found us so clean, well-equipped & helpful.
There is much history attached to our old fashioned country house. From the stories we tell to the 150 year old monkey puzzle tree in our grounds, the Briery Wood loves its heritage. Our peaceful grounds are home to some wonderful wildlife too.
With our location making access to the fells and valleys so easy, we hope you choose to visit us here at The Briery Wood again soon.
With kind regards,
Jennifer Braithwaite (Assistant Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.4 km away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
6.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.4 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Property: Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#11 Family Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,368 - ₹ 12,736
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing