We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

For the last 21 years four of us have visited a different country house hotel for the New Year period. This year we choose Briery Wood for our break. None of us had even heard of this hotel but their online offer looked what we wanted and after a short telecon we booked up in October.
We arrived in time for a warm welcome and a cup of tea thereafter our experience of this wonderful hotel just grew and grew.
Well furnished, clean and warm with lovely Xmas decorations not over the top.
The food out of this world hot tasty and beautifully served by the ever helpful staff and what a wonderful wine list.
Nothing was too much trouble and we had the BEST New Year ever culminating in a seven course gala dinner on New Year's Eve.......fantastic
Should also mention the inclusive boat trip on Windermere on New Year's Eve morning followed by a club sandwhich and a warming festive drink. The weather was terrible.

Room Tip: Groud floor rooms easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Michael B,
Thank you so much firstly for choosing to spend your New Year with us, and secondly for taking the time to write this review.
Our Christmas & New Year packages always prove popular with guests and I'm glad this year is no exception. We put a lot of time & effort into planning these breaks, so to hear that they have been a success is great news.
The team here at Briery Wood pride ourselves on our warm welcome, tasty food, cleanliness and helpful attitude.
Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality - the four of you were truly a delight to spend time with.
We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon,
With kindest regards,
Jennifer Braithwaite (Assistant Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    164
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
88
334
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Briery Wood is a nice place to stay, with clean, comfortable rooms and ample free parking. Breakfast was very good (even if it was only open until 9.30am), with freshly cooked full English alongside many other choices.

The surrounding gardens are pleasant and peaceful, and the staff friendly and helpful.

The rate of £70 per person per night makes a double room quite expensive for what is on offer, but I did not check many other options in the area to compare.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bard_Lucy_Hume_XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for your review of The Briery Wood, we really appreciate all of feedback that we receive.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here, our staff do their utmost to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable stay in a clean, relaxed atmosphere.
Our breakfast is one of our favourite ways to spoil our guests, with many cooked & cold options available for an hour each morning to set them up for a day on the fells or keep them going until they reach home.
Our standard rate includes many special touches for our guests - from complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits & sweets in our rooms, to our eco friendly bathroom products, free newspapers & wi-fi. We also have special rates on offer through our website, facebook and direct from the hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
With kind regards, Jennifer Braithwaite (Assistant Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I have just visited the hotel for a 3 day break for the fourth time this year, may I say more. This hotel is situated midway between Windermere and Ambleside and is set in wonderful grounds. First of all the staff are wonderful, nothing is a problem and is also carried out with a smile. The rooms are spacious and cheerful. The food is excellent, freshly cooked breakfast to order (no pre-cooked buffet at this hotel). Dinner is excellent (pay the little difference, it is well worth it), you get 3 excellent courses plus coffee and home made chocolates. This hotel is a hidden gem within the Lake District. Forget about B&B in Bowness and Ambleside and stay in lovely surroundings with lovely people and excellent food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magpie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Magpie21,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Briery Wood.
As you say, it was your fourth visit of the year to see us - we look forward to your visits, you are both a pleasure to look after.
Here at the Briery Wood, we try our best to fulfill, and hopefully exceed our guests' expectations. We work very hard to create and maintain the relaxed atmosphere and high standards you enjoy so much. It is a team effort, with everyone playing their part, and working to the best of their abilities.
We are helped here by our location in peaceful, wildlife-friendly grounds. The breakfasts, lunches and dinners, as you say, are all cooked freshly to order, with Chef writing his menu daily to make the most of seasonal produce.
Your feedback is really helpful & all of the staff do appreciate the compliments you pay us in this review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards,
Jennifer Braithwaite
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a two night family break to this hotel over the half term holiday. The hotel was incredibly clean, the room we stayed in contained what can only be described as the mother of all kingsize beds and had the added bonus of having french doors which opened out onto the beautiful grounds. The location of Briery wood is really peaceful yet it's only a couple of minutes drive into Ambleside or Windermere so it is brilliant for getting out and about from.
Whilst I could ramble on about the rooms, the strength of this hotel lies in the exceptional quality of the food and the fantastic attention of the staff. We had breakfast and an evening meal each day. The menu was really exciting, the food beautifully and elegantly presented but more importantly absolutely delicious. I would challenge even the hardest food critic to find fault with any of it. A family travelling with us had a guest who was a coeliac and the staff effortlessly catered for them without making any kind of a fuss.
It wouldn't be right though to review this hotel without mentioning the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful and yet somehow managed to only appear when you needed them, we came away feeling really relaxed and thoroughly looked after.
So what is the problem? Sadly it's unusual to find a place with an emphasis on providing the genuinely friendly service that Briery wood so clearly has... I know that we will be guaging every other hotel we stay in against the service we received here and wonder just who else can measure up to it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Following on from my review in May this year, I returned to stay in this cosy hotel in August. What I forgot to mention the last time is where else can you get a 1 night stay on a weekend. My first visit was a Saturday night over a bank holiday weekend and this visit was a Saturday night in the middle of the school holidays. So if your time is short in the lkaes check out this little gem of a hotel. Oh, almost forgot, so dog friendly

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichelleD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.4 km away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
7.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
3.4 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Property: Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#11 Family Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,888 - ₹ 12,283
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing