We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic & Magnificant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merewood Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
GreenLeadersBronze level
MANCHESTER
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic & Magnificant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Over 3 weeks, stayed 7 times. What can I say about Merewood that has not been said before, The staff were amazing, could not do enough & because I had to start early, they even got the staff in half an hour early to get breakfast ready. The rooms are faultless & kept to a high standard. The food was just out of this world, Michelin star rated & you must try the desserts, a perfect way to finish off the day. Have already booked to return in the summer. The location & views over the lakes is amazing & a must see.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel for advise, as I was not aware of any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    92
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
176
382
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
english
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for two nights,23-24 March, The weather was unbelievable , gorgeous sunshine for the happy couple, All the staff at the hotel were brilliant, never saw a single one with " a face on" Even though we had a lot of young children running round the rooms, upstairs and down !
The service was first class,
We had room 5, a very large and comfortable room,with two king size beds, and a large sofa bed in the bay window, and a spa bath !
When it came to the food for the wedding,it was amazing !
Can't recommend 'The Merewood Country House Hotel ' high enough,
You will not be disappointed if you choose this Hotel for your venue.
Thank you all for a wonderful stay,

Room Tip: Rooms to the front , have a wonderful view down to the lake. But all rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for friends wedding 16th-19th March, what an excellent hotel with a perfect setting. The management, staff, food could not be faulted, everyone was made to feel very welcome.
I will definately be returning for another stay.

Room Tip: try for lake view rooms as ones at the back suffer from lack of views and a little noise from extrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkeylover49188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Thank you for our daughter and our now son-in-law’s really magnificent wedding weekend at The Merewood.

We came with high expectations and we can honestly say that every member of staff exceeded them in every respect – there was no-one who ‘put a foot wrong’ at any time. From our very first visit to view the hotel, through all the planning stages and on the day itself, we were given every confidence that it would be a perfect weekend and a very special day… and you did it – it was just that!

We were taken with the friendliness, passion and enthusiasm of Joe on our very first visit (and during the weekend itself), when he made us feel most welcome. Indeed, he wasn’t trying to sell us “what you had got”, he was keen to know what we wanted and to explain how Merewood could then accommodate it for us.

As for Helen, you could not wish for a better, more professional Wedding Coordinator. Nothing was too much trouble when we asked and, very often, she had already anticipated things. She was a very calming influence throughout (and that was very much appreciated at key times!), not only because of her knowledge, experience and attention to detail, but also because she has a very caring, seemingly unflappable and very helpful nature.

After such a successful event, however, it is unfair to mention only those people we had direct contact with - Joe, Helen and Adam, who was always not only willing to help but also to ask if there was anything he could do for us at that particular time. Your “unsung hero’s” also deserve credit:
- the friendly room-maids who were willing to chat and have a joke whilst they waited patiently on the landing for those guests with back trouble, i.e. those who couldn’t get their back off the bed
- the bar staff who didn’t once show how harassed they must have been at times trying to pick up drinks orders over the general background noise and, later, over the extremely loud disco music
- the servers at the wedding breakfast who weaved their way professionally, and with a smile, around children playing on the floor and guests who were socialising with guests on other tables between every course – the atmosphere was marvellous
- anyone else I have missed who played a part in anyway, big or small, to make the occasion so successful.

I have deliberately left until last the chef and the kitchen team. Having seen (and eaten) the quality of the bar snacks on Friday night, any doubts that we may have had (but didn’t) about a wedding breakfast for so many, some with dietary restrictions, were dispelled well before the big day itself. The food simply was amazing – I personally heard quite a few people say after the meal that it was the best meal that they had ever had at a wedding, and I couldn’t agree more!

It was a truly wonderful wedding weekend – one that we will always remember and one that I know our daughter and son-in-law will relive many times over the coming weeks as it happily settles into their memories. It was very much down to the Merewood Hotel, its staff and its idyllic location.

Once again thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Ideal for a wedding weekend, with the nearby Cragwood and Briarwood ideal for overflow asccommodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Not much more to say that hasn't already been said. It's just fantastic - food,,situation, staff could not fault anything.
If you want a hotel in the Lakes look no further.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.7 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
3.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merewood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merewood Country House Hotel

Property: Merewood Country House Hotel
Address: Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,220 - ₹ 12,947
Hotel Class:4 star — Merewood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merewood is a country house hotel of great charm and distinction set in a position of incomparable scenic beauty. The Hotel stands on its own secluded estate, overlooking Lake Windermere and is easily accessible from the main route to and through the Lakes. Merewood's friendly and efficient staff, the relaxed excellence of the service and the wonderful food are all of a quality to match the unparalleled location.The Hotel is open all year including Christmas and New Year and the English Tourist Board has awarded it a "Highly Commended" three stars with silver accolade for food and service. It is often worth checking for late availability as there are special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Merewood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merewood Country Hotel
Merewood Country Windermere
Merewood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing