We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howbeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Howbeck
Ranked #12 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed for two nights over the weekend. We had a wonderful time. The room was tastefully decorated, the breakfast was plentiful with great variety and nothing was too much for the exceptionally friendly staff! Well done to the Howbeck and thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guests, you are more than welcome for the services we provided, it's great to be appreciated! Thank you for publishing this wonderful review, 'Paradise' - what a great way to sum up your stay. Your lovely comments will be shared with all of team, and we all hope you will find the chance to visit again soon. Remember to book direct and inform us that you are a returning guest - we will find your details, offer you the best price and even a complimentary gift!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    127
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
47
717
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We had a great stay at the Howbeck. Locate between windermere and Bowness. The hotel was so clean and the welcome fantastic. Nothing was a problem to the staff with a good welcome and explanation of location and available facilities. We did not visit the spa but it looked good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guests, what a wonderful review! Thank you from all of the team at The Howbeck for sharing such lovely views and fabulous ratings. To receive full marks in all categories makes us very proud, and makes all the hard work our team put in seem very worth while. It's great to know how much you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed for one night after booking with secret escapes and I complained to them when I arrived home as we had booked for two nights but because of my husbands change of work commitments we could only stay the one night and the terms and conditions stated" 100% non refundable and no date changes are possible once the booking has been made" only to be told that these are the Howbecks conditions and when I mentioned to two different members of staff that my husbands work commitment was the reason we were leaving early, on attempt to see if they could perhaps offer me another date as long as I added an extra day or something of that nature, they just seemed relieved that it was nothing to do with any particular service I had received from them during my stay. Therefore this was the MOST EXPENSIVE night I have ever had. The room was clean and well presented but the ensuite was tiny and try and make a cup of tea you have to plug the mini kettle in an extension that runs behind the wardrobe (Lingmell Room). I also felt that what was supposedly a romantic touch of fairy lights hanging off the bedhead spolit the otherwise lovely decor of the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for your feedback following your break away with us last week. To receive 4s and 5s out of 5 is great to see, and your comments regarding the cleanliness and presentation are highly appreciated.
I would like to take this opportunity to address the other points that you raise, as I do in fact believe they do not clearly represent that value that guests actually receive when staying with us, and adhering to booking conditions. Yes, it is made clear in our conditions that amendments cannot be made once a booking has been made, however if we are informed of changes in advance (7 days+), we are often able to come to a suitable agreement with the guest (this may be to exchange a night for another date).
You only made us aware of the fact you could not stay for both nights once you were here with us. This clearly does not provide us with enough time to re-sell the room, and it is often the case (especially at this busy time of year), that other potential bookings were rejected due to the lack of availability whilst you were booked in with us. I believe that almost all hotels/ guesthouses adhere to similar cancellation policies.
Whilst we try to offer a flexible approach with regards to our booking conditions to maintain excellent customer service, the notice you provided us with was not sufficient.
With regards to the fairy lights, whilst we are sorry you did not enjoy these, many guests (as can been read in reviews) enjoy the romantic ambience that the lights help to create. This we feel is simply a matter of personal taste - they can quite simply be removed from the bed.
With regards to the en-suite, this room is advertised as having a walk in shower only ,which suggests it is smaller than other bathrooms, whilst many of our other rooms have large jacuzzi baths. It is a very modern bathroom with all the required facilities, and whilst it may be smaller than other bathrooms, we believe it is more than adequate in size.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and if we can be of any further service, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary for 2 nights, although we had a very pleasant time I feel this hotel/B&B is highly over priced and by no means a 5*.
We stayed in Capelcrag which turned out to be a very small room with poor light. I found it dull to say the least, there were floor tiles in the bathroom cracked and the shower screen had mildew on the bottom!!! Under our bed we found sweet wrappers and rose petals suggesting the room had not been thoroughly cleaned and the throw on top of the bed had red stains on it!
We didnt mention these problems to the staff for several reasons, we were on a relaxtion break so the last thing we wanted was arguments & stress and secondly reading the reviews on here the staff seem very defensive.
Breakfast was average, wasnt overly hot and mushrooms tasted like they had been fried in dirty fat!
Overall a pleasant weekend for us but would not stay here again!
Oh and one final point if you are thinking of booking here do not pay extra for fairy lights, only a few of the lights worked and made the bed look cheap. By no means pretty.

Room Tip: Capelcrag is very dark & small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Many thanks for your review,
We do welcome all reviews, both critical ones & good ones! I am sorry you did not feel we offered you 5 star accommodation and service, as you will know we do not rate ourselves, this is done by independent associations annually and we have just been re awarded not only a 5 star AA rating but highly acclaimed, plus a breakfast award. We do strive to exceed peoples expectations, i am sorry you thought we were overpriced, of course guests will always get the lowest rates booking directly with ourselves and not through third party booking agents who's commissions run at over 20%.

However the claims you make do concern me and i have already spoken to my management and staff on duty during your stay about each one, it is a pitty you did not mention any issues during your stay, in fact my staff asked you if everything was ok, and again on check out as you did not seem to be enjoying yourselves, your reply was yes everything is ok thank you.

I can assure you, and everyone who is reading this my staff are trained to the highest standards of hospitality, they are certainly not defencive in their work, i think what you are referring to as defencive are our management replies on tripadvisor reviews, we have a right to reply and correct inaccuracies in peoples miss-leading reviews on tripadviser, and we do take all reviews seriously, we do investigate complaints and act to rectify problems which do occur from time to time.

In looking at your review i can assure you that any valid issues have been dealt with, such as the fairy lights, we did find that two our our stock light sets have bulbs not working and these have been replaced, however i would like to say that some of the issues you mention are not valid & therefore we cannot deal with those.

Thank you for choosing to stay with ourselves and if you would like to discuss any of the above directly with me please do not hesitate to call, i would like the opportunity to talk to you personally & hopefully resolve things as best we can after the event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A wonderful B &B, think boutique!. We had a lovely room, superking bed and nice, though small en-suite. Nothing was too much trouble for breakfast, with plenty of selection. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie1983, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear guests, having read your review, we would like to thank you for your kind comments and terrific scores - 5/5 all round, what more could we ask for. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will find the opportunity to come and stay with us again sometime soon. Warmest regards from all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
6.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.7 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howbeck? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Property: The Howbeck
Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,239 - ₹ 13,817
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing