We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
248
256
104
32
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
256
104
32
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view lovely hotel buffet style third floor two nights evening meal dog friendly hotel lake district two night stay road noise booked this hotel short stroll hotel is situated both mornings bed was very comfortable my partner full english
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

me and my partner decided to get away for couple of nights and have always fancied the lake district after looking for a while i came across craig manor hotel phoned up got a very polite gentleman on the phone who booked us in ,we went on thurs til sat .when we arrived we were made very welcome .our room was at the front of the hotel room was very nice with plenty of tea coffee biscuits etc which is rarely found in some hotels .the gentleman on reception was very helpful pointed us in right direction of shops bars restaurants and the lake which is only a ten min walk at most.The breakfast was the best we have ever had and the staff was very polite and friendly .would love to go back sometime very soon .only thing a would say is when staying in a front room can be noisy at times with the traffic .

Room Tip: choose a room on back of hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline1971_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. Room was excellent (although a bit noisy from the busy road) and exceptionally clean. Compliments to the chef as the breakfast and evening dinner were 5 star as were the staff, who were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front which faced the main road so it was a bit noisy, would ask for a room facing the lake on our next visit
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the Bank Holiday weekend and it was a great experince.
Breakfast and Dinner was superb; food was top notch and the service too; including the invisble person playing the grand piano as back ground music in the Dining area (automated piano keys!)

The hotel offered us a layed back experience in a superb setting with a garden and tables to enjoy the scenery outside on a fine day. Our room overlooked the rear of the hotel with views towards the Lake; note the front bedrooms may have noise from the traffic is they overlook the main traffic route into Bowness.

We are definitely coming back to this quaint hotel and rate it highly for a relaxed break with good food, service and location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel following our initial stay in 2009 and we found it very good. We had a room overlooking the area towards the lake on the third floor. The room was comfortable and quiet and although I would have preferred a bath instead of the shower we managed ok. The breakfasts were excellent and you got a decent-sized teapot, not like some of the tiny things you get in some places. Can't comment on the evening menu as we preferred to go down into Bowness for our evening meal. There is ample car-parking at the rear of the hotel and the week we were there the car park was quite empty. The hotel is well-situated for walking into Bowness or into Windermere village. All-in-all my partner and I had no real complaints, the staff were friendly enough and we had no real problems, we will certainly go back.

Room Tip: its helpful if you get a room at the back of the hotel as this is a lot quieter, you pay a bit extra but its worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colvez1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed from 24/05/2012 through til 26/05/2012 for a mini moon having got married the day before in Scotland.

We did have a break at this hotel a few years ago and loved it despite the fact the rooms badly needed refurbishment. What a difference now! All of the good stuff is still there such as great food, amazing service delivered by super staff plus refurbished rooms. We had a lake view room which was just lovely. A perfect stay to celebrate our marriage.

Great location for exploring the lakes, lovely views yet so close to the town, good value, can't fault it. We will be back.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy road so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. Lake view rooms well worth the extra money for the peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyLWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews