We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pathetic stay”
Review of Brendan Chase

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brendan Chase
Ranked #95 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Worst B&B, owner was vey rude , greetd upon arrival but just went on and on with his irrelevant informatiopn.. won't recommend at all.room was stingy and very small....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
28  Thank BHAWS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Brendan Chase
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a great weekend stay at Brendan Chase. David (the owner) is helpful and friendly, his breakfast was great. The room and bathroom were clean, a kettle, tea and coffee were provided and refilled which was great after a day out walking, and there was a flatscreen tv. I think our only little niggles is that the shower in our room was not the best (out-dated), however, on we saw that the shower in the shared bathroom was really modern; our matress was also old and a little uncomfy. Overall I think its a great place for the price you pay. Brendan Chase is in a great location, right in the center of Windermere. The area of Windermere and Bowness is absolutely stunning and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chbrown2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Brendan Chase what can I say!! Upon arrival we were greeted by David who at first appeared friendly and welcoming. He showed us throught the back kitchen and led us to the booking in area which was quite dark and gloomy. The kitchen appeared unclean and the pan scrubber was black!! The double room was adequate however the mattress was in severe need of replacement and the bedding clean but unpressed. David as a host was helpful and pointed out places to eat and visit although eager to point out the recent television programme 'The Hotel Inspector' had set him up. The communal bathroom which was new and impressive had the bath taps taped up with a sign on saying do not use (complete with stray hairs in the bottom'. This was in fact the cleanest and most modern thing in the whole building. David was keen to point out all the rules of the house and left us wondering if there was anything we were allowed to do inside. After a poor nights sleep we were greeted by a less than appetising breakfast which was laden with fat and lacking in taste. We made our polite excuses and left the B & B that day. I would not recommend this establishment to a living soul. After bumping into David in the street at the end of our long weekend he was rude obnovious and confrontational. David branded us liars and cheats and said we had cost him money (which I found hard to believe). We had tried to be polite rather than be honest in leaving the establishment. He had profited from our £70 and we felt for that sum of money we should look elsewhere. Please please dont stay... you have been warned. We are not rude people... we just wanted to enjoy a comfortable enjoyable long weekend in the Lakes. We had initally booked for four nights stay for my 40th birthday but we were not prepared to spend four nights in those surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank Nicola Timms B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Situated at the north end of the town of Windermere, competitively & fairly priced Brendan Chase is within easy walking distance of this picturesque mid-1800’s town. There is limited parking in the back for guests. Our twin room was very clean: nicely decorated in pleasant pale yellow, bedding crisply prepared, lots of pillows and a handsome wardrobe for storage. Amenities in the room include a TV, sink, & well stocked tea tray including fine china tea mugs. All electrical outlets and heating are in fine working order. We booked into a room with a shared bathroom – no problems, as additional W.C. available on the same floor. The bathroom is very spacious & totally modernized, with a tub & shower – observe the intriguing South African succulent in the window ledge should you be on the first floor. Make yourself a nice cup of tea in the evening & relax downstairs in the large, comfortable sitting room (ask to have the fireplace lit) where there is a wide variety of reading material available on the surrounding area – ranging from trail path guides to general information and some history on the surrounding sites. Admire the interesting cactus collection in the window alcove, too. Listen for host David Maloney’s articulate dry wit to add to the enjoyment of your stay at Brendan Chase Guest House. He is a fine cook for your full English breakfast (including tasty Cumberland sausage) and very knowledgeable about places to hike, eat, visit and perambulate while staying in the Lakes District- he is also a wealth of general information on a wide variety of topics, so ask him questions regarding England!

Room Tip: Be straight forward - communicate your needs to host David, he will do his best to meet them.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Brendan Chase is a decent basic B&B with a quirky host. It has a good location in a quiet road in Windermere. Our room was very small for a double and the mattress was nearing its sell by date. However, it's clean and the breakfast is good. Decent value for money at the lower end of the market.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 km away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 107 in Windermere
116 reviews
0.1 km away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#36 of 107 in Windermere
320 reviews
0.1 km away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#92 of 107 in Windermere
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
352 reviews
0.1 km away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#93 of 107 in Windermere
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brendan Chase? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brendan Chase

Address: 1-3 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 7,681 - ₹ 14,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brendan Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brendan Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brendan Chase Hotel Windermere
Brendan Chase Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing