We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, luxury and homeliness all in one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the Bowness room which even though it was right by the bar was deadly quiet. Bed was huge and really comfy and there were lovely touches in the room - a decent hairdryer, lots of hangers, a proper shoe cleaning and mending kit, decent toiletries and dressing gowns. Breakfast was magnificent - there is an extensive choice and there is a constant checking to see if you've had enough to eat and drink. Hotel is spotlessly clean and despite cream carpets no sign of the traffic that goes through there!

We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was delicious. Great quality, well cooked and beautifully presented.

Friendly hosting - Jonathan and Caroline are welcoming and try hard to make you feel like friends visiting rather than just paying guests without forgetting that you are customers. Think they just about get it right.

We will definitely recommend them to friends and be back ourselves

Room Tip: Make sure when you book you tell them about any special requirements - quiet room, diet etc and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gembiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and comments, all lovely! Hope to see you again soon for another break in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 692 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed a Cedar Manor for 4 nights. A wonderful hotel in beautiful surroudings, everything excellent. Jonathan & Caroline are the perfect hosts, very friendly, nothing too much trouble.
Staff all very friendly and helpful. Food to die for, rooms beautifully decorated ( we stayed in Cringle Crags) . Best hotel we have ever stayed in and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: I can't think that there would anything other than an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you very much for going to the trouble of reviewing your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at Cedar Manor for bed, breakfast and dinner. Lovely small hotel, very friendly & helpful hosts and excellent service all round. The food was especially good and we hope to return at some point. We had the Langdale room, which was the only one available at short notice. It was quite small, but very comfortable, well equiped and very clean. We would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the Lakes.

Room Tip: Langdale was nice, but had no shower cubicle and was a little small. A larger room would be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_sWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you found your room to be comfortable and of a good standard.
All our rooms are different sizes so we would encourage anyone considering staying to look at the descriptions on our website where they are described in detail. If you need any help just drop us an email or give us a call and we will assist as best we can.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Me and wife recently stayed in the coach house suite for 2 nights , I can only say what a fantastic experience , I'd seen the videos read the reviews but still couldn't believe how nice it was , I actually told johnathon if I won the lottery I would make him a offer ( unfortunately I didn't ) we ate in the restraint on our first night, the food and the service was excellent , the following evening we ate in the coach house , we didn't mind the weather not being the best we would of happily stayed in the coach house , it really is a special treat and can't wait to go back ,

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happy63Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Coach House Suite at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Cedar Manor for one night and it wasn't enough, we could easily have stayed for more, The Hotel is so beautiful and is done to a very high standard, The food was the best we had had for a long time and i'm a real foody so got 10 out of 10 form me. Jonathan and Caroline are the best hosts and we wish them well in the future, I do hope that we will be back soon, if not this year definitely next and I know we will stay longer. (so that I can go through the dinner menu)!! many thanks for a lovely treat

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAILA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay a couple of weeks ago.
We are all looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
2.6 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
6.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
3.8 km away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 12,683 - ₹ 22,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing