We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have just returned from spending the weekend at Cedar Manor. The property itself is beautiful. The owners and staff where friendly and helpful. The room was cosy and spotlessly clean. The food was wonderful. All in all I couldn't fault with anything at all. We will return and I will have no hesitation in recommending Cedar Lodge to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Windermere room which was situated at the front of the hotel, above the dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 754 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have just returned from spending 2 nights at this lovely hotel. The room was clean, cosy, comfortable and with a view we could not wait to wake up for! The hotel is beautiful, elegant but welcoming and we felt very relaxed after our stay. The hosts were always on hand to help and work extremely hard to ensure your stay is a good one. The food is divine - we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMcGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted to read your review and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is well deserving of its reputation and 5 star accolade.
Our room (Orrest Head suite) was spacious and attractive, with an ornate sitting room, and luxurious jacuzzi bath.
The owners did everything they could to make our stay special, including breakfast in bed for my partner's birthday, and were generally very nice and helpful.
The restaurant is beautiful, peaceful and romantic, and the food is great too.
Our deal was through Living Social, and so a little bit discounted, but it would represent excellent value nonetheless at full cost.
I have already recommended the hotel to our family to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for such a great review. The whole team will be delighted with your comments, making all of their hard-work, a lot of it behind the scenes feel worthwhile.
We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully some of your family and friends too.
Thanks again for your recommendations.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I booked this trip for my husband's 30th birthday. We love the Lakes, but have never stated anywhere as luxurious as Cedar Manor. It was a real treat - the room was lovely (and extremely clean!), the staff were smiley and helpful, and the food was stunning. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraVanHouplines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor for your husbands 30th, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and peaceful.
We look forward to seeing you again for your next break in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic meal at the Hotel recently. From the moment we entered the hotel we were treated to a wonderful experience. The food was amazing, the decor of the hotel superb and the owners extremely hospitable, they deserve the AA Rosette.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.3 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
2.6 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
6.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
3.8 km away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 12,704 - ₹ 22,998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing