We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family place”

Review of The Undercroft

Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room Dining and sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room
Dining and sitting area
twin room
king size bedroom with en suite
internal view across from kitchen
view from outside
enclosed garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky H
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely family place”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here for 5 nights, very quiet and comfortable, spacious and great location to local bars, shops and walks. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your break. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maurice s
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tastfully converted school house”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

charming roomy self catering unit within a group of appartments in a former school house.
Two bedrooms with sleeping for 5. We visited over the easter weekend, the apartment was very spacious and dogs were welcome. The upper floor area well presented with the floor level windows being a curious attract to the dog who loved sitting looking out. the light coloured carpets and furnishings did show cleaning stains but this just showed the property was well cleaned and looked after. One magor problem we encountered was the fact the front door would not unlock so we had to access the property from the rear door ok in daylight a little tricky in the dark. overall a lovely little gem tucked down a narrow driveway we managed to squeeze down in a standard sized transit van, Quiet location yet yards from the busy main street and bueatiful walks. Well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: upside down house with spacious living space
Liked least: No front door access, Double bed lumpy singles matteresses felt as tired as us
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. As you know we contacted you to advise that previous guest had reported a problem with the door lock, which was inspected the same day, but needed to door to be modified to enable a replacement which would have potentially inconvenienced you. As you advised us that you had no problems using the rear door we deliberately delay the work until the end of your holiday in order to minimise any disruption. I am pleased to say that the lock are now replaced and fully functioning. Thank you for your understanding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenet73...
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“gorgeous place, a heavenly retreat”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

lovely place, so peaceful and everything you could need.my friend and i only stayed here 2 nights and it was perfect, stunning building in an ideal location. the owner was very helpful and accommodating, i just wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08062003
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Brilliant - dog friendly and exceptionally clean”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we have stayed here twice now - october half term last year and at easter this year and are booked again for august bank holiday. We originally booked as we needed somewhere that would cater for a small dog but didnt look or smell like it did!. We booked after the trip advisor review said how clean it was and we werent disapointed. This place is immaculate and you couldnt tell if a dog had been in it before (very important to me as i hate dog hair and the smell of dogs! - we have a lhasa apso who doesnt shed hair). My kids (aged 9 and 11) loved it and it has a small enclosed garden so is very secure. Its within a few minuites walk to Windermere so you dont need a car to get about . The owners are very helpful and provide a little goody pack with essentials (wine chocolate and dog biscuits!). Looking forward to going back in a couple of weeks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. I regularly say it, but we do try really hard to make things right and its so nice when it is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bee B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“HIgh standard lovely church school conversion”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely Church school conversion, decorated and furnished to a high standard with all the amenities you need for a comfortable stay. Stayed with a family member and my dog. Great welcome pack awaiting arrival including treats for my dog! There are two designated parking spaces. Within easy walking distance from shops and eating places we found it well located and in easy travelling distance to Ambleside and other places of interest. Would recommend to others and return. It is really nice to stay somewhere nice and well maintained which allows dogs, a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The whole property.
Liked least: The yard area being overlooked by two other property windows on two sides.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and positive feedback. Delighted that enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing