We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place to stay.”

Review of The Undercroft

Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room Dining and sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room
Dining and sitting area
twin room
king size bedroom with en suite
internal view across from kitchen
view from outside
enclosed garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CazzBell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay.”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place. We had a brilliant holiday. Stayed with dogs and kids and we all enjoyed ourselves. Near lovely walk to Lake for dogs and in town for kids. Lovely house to come back to.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for your feedback, we very much appreciate it and delighted that you enjoyed you stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AttiaFaro...
1 review
“Outstanding home from home”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Exceptionally clean, close to shops. Next door to a doctor surgery. Very close to Brockhole. Kids loved the setting of the house. It was very spacious for the baby to crawl around. If I visit lake district again im sure to book this cottage again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thanksyou for your positive comments. Glad that you had such a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayjo...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is a beutiful cottage, well maintained and centraly located. The accommodation is spacious and of a very high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it exceeded my expectations
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and grateful that have taken the time to write a review too. Look forward to welcoming you agin v soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindyc123
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

beautiful house everything you needed was there welcome pack with wine chocs and doggy treats lovely thought spotless clean owner friendly nothing too much trouble centrally located only complaint i have is i couldnt stay any longer so quiet and relaxing will be booking again hopefully sooner rather than later

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. It is much apprecaited, guest comments are always welcome, we don't take for granted the time it takes to post fedback, so again thank you. Look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubbles12...
Everton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a fab weekend ,the undercroft beautiful ,spacious ,quiet and good location to everywhere we went ,our dog loved it aswell great walks , shops bars , and even a welcome hamper which was greatly appreciated ,they even had a bone for our dog and he loved that.great communication all in all fantastic !!!!!!!!!!!! We will deffo come back spotlessly clean x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thansk you for taking time to give us your feedback, much apprecaited.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing