We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic hideaway!”

Review of The Undercroft

Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room Dining and sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room
Dining and sitting area
twin room
king size bedroom with en suite
internal view across from kitchen
view from outside
enclosed garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jonesnic8...
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic hideaway!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and what an amazing find! We walked easily to both Windermere and Bowness as it was bang in the middle which was ideal! The cottage itself is stunning with beautiful features! Everything you need is provided including a welcome pack with biscuits (for us and the dog) and the important wine! We took our dog and it was perfect and safe with a lovely fenced court yard which got the sun all afternoon! We will be booking up again and have family looking to visit in the summer as well!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated. We work hard to make the cottage welcoming, clean and comfortable for all our guests, including four legged friends, its great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely large living area, great central location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated, as I have said before we try very hard to ensure that all is as you would expect and more if we can, so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is much appreciated. Glad we were able to help with such good quality property at the very last minute. We try our best to make both the reservation process and the cottages themselves as good an experience as we possibly can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
frannyann...
preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic break away at the undercroft! It is a beautiful property, very stylish and furnished to a high standard! Prime location with Windermere town centre literally only round the corner! We would highly recommend to friends and family and would certainly return in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review of The Undercroft, pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, either to The Undercroft, or maybe Under Rigg Cottage, Ambleside next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyWhal...
Whalley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful, luxurious, and pristinely clean house in a fantastic location. with”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We had a wonderful holiday at the Undercroft. We will definitely be returning and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends. It is a superior holiday home at a very affordable price. It is well planned, modern and spacious, and tastefully decorated. It is equipped with everything needed for a relaxing getaway. We needed to use our dongle to connect to the internet during our stay, but that was not a problem. The property is in a fantastic location -within minutes of the shops, pubs and eateries, but also within easy access to so many stunning views and lakes. The house had been cleaned to an unbelievably high standard and Alison (the owner) was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Excellent value for money - sheer luxury without a huge bill!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2012
Thank you for your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated, so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing