We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent seafood restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hooked

Hooked
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 37
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fantastic range of seafood, cooked fresh to order. Menu changes daily depending on what comes in from the local supplier in Fleetwood.
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“excellent seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

A small restaurant with a short menu. The owner and his assistant are extremely pleasant and helpful and the food and wine are first rate. Very good value for money.
We thought everything was faultless and we look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    156
    30
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not enough choice and needs a total makeover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Firstly, the choice of starters is poor. There were 3 deep fried choices, not a good idea for a starter if you're looking for something light. Would have liked to see some smoked salmon or even a classic prawn cocktail. Secondly, two of the mains were no longer available and we were dining at 8.30 which isn't particularly late and thirdly, the place needs a total makeover. It has no ambience what so ever, if just feels like a fish and chip shop!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank PrimulaAmbleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mge119, Owner at Hooked, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for your review.
Firstly I would like to point out that we had two starters that were deep fried on the menu, our very popular Whitebait with our homemade smoked paprika mayonnaise and our very tender and fresh Calamari with our homemade tartare sauce. Being a fresh seafood restaurant we are constantly changing our menu, depending on what is being caught by our supplier. Some nights we have razor clams, Cornish sardines, cod cheeks and other interesting items. We feel that smoked salmon and prawn cocktail to be some what old fashioned and not in keeping with the ethos of our restaurant.
To your second point regarding running out of a couple of items, I do apologise as this sometimes happens when dealing with fresh seafood. To maintain freshness of our dishes we do order a certain number of each fish species, as we are able to get our delivery 6 days a week. If a large number of our earlier customers order a specific fish, we will run out. In fact 99.99% of our customers understand this. I do respect my customer’s opinions, but to your final point regarding the room, I am deeply offended and feel in no way does the restaurant look or feel like a fish and chip shop.
Having read the other reviews you have written, I wish you all the luck in finding your perfect restaurant!
Yours Faithfully
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fish lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Large plates but fish was the freshest, would recommend

Helpful?
Thank SandownGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great food, Great welcome, Great Wine! Staff very welcoming and food delicious. (btw - would welcome info on the New Zealand white wine we drunk as would like to buy our own!!).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank 729heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mge119, Owner at Hooked, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi Guys
So very glad you enjoyed your evening. Give me a call on 01539448443 any afternoon and I will tell you where to get some of our fantastic NZ. Sauvignon Blanc.
Cheers, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

if you like excellent quality food, beautifully and delicately cooked, presented with charm and run by someone who loves and takes pride in what they do, then BINGO! very good indeed, although i fear you have ruined calamari anywhere else for me for life!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlackburnEllz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hooked also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing