We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,386)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveller rating
881
258
143
64
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
881
258
143
64
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews damson gin miss potter afternoon tea michelin star lodge rooms the main house hunting lodge hot tub peter rabbit arts and crafts spa treatments amuse bouche tasting menu the general manager stunning views scallops lake district
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

From the moment we arrived, the staff at this beautiful, warm and cosy hotel were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for Marco, Nigel, the bar and reception staff. We felt totally looked after. Our room (7) had a balcony to enjoy the magnificent view. This special hotel with its crackling, log fires and gleaming decor is the perfect January retreat and we cannot recommend it highly enough. We enjoyed delicious food both for our evening meal and breakfast. Our compliments to the chef.

Room tip: Good Views
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco F, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear D D,
It was a pleasure to hear and read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we would like to thank you again for your kind feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Let me start by saying if you read some of the reviews on TA you would not come here. However, I would like to tell you of our experience. Excellent service from start to finish; Nigel, who seems to be everywhere and Emma in the bar stand out as two outstanding people who could not do enough to help. Breakfast was perfect and dinner, whilst limited in choice was excellent. Yes some bits are a little tired but overall it was a very good experience. Our room had the best view I have seen from a hotel room, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows where great. All in all a great country house hotel that will meet the expectations of most normal people.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank IanW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco F, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Ian W,
Also on behalf of Nigel and Emma I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay which are highly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

We spent last weekend at this hotel and it was very good. Exceptionally dog friendly, impeccable service and we were made to feel very welcome. We had dinner in a private dining room with the dog, which was was superb and breakfast choice was good including a full vegetarian.

Could say that the lodge rooms maybe needed an update but were cosy and clean. The amazing view of the lake from our balcony literally took our breath away. Really enjoyed it overall and will be back in the warmer months with our pooch.

Room tip: Dog friendly lodges with lake view
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elliotmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco F, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Elliotmum,
We are looking forward to welcome you back already in either spring or summer time. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing stay over the Christmas period. We bought along our dog so were allocated a dog friendly lodge with a wonderful view of the lake.
The room was spacious and clean, typical “country house “ slightly lived in comfort with a cute wood burner effect gas fire so we were all very cosy.
We were all made to feel very welcome by the staff and thoroughly enjoyed the walks we had following instructions provided by the hotel.
Dinner in the restaurant was very good, beautifully presented and delicious.
Breakfast too was excellent.
Overall we would recommend the hotel as somewhere to enjoy the lakes with your dog, and at the end of the day a wonderful dinner for you in relaxed surroundings.
This is our second trip to the hotel (1st with the dog) and hope to visit again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cheshirechestnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco F, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Cheshirechestnut,
We are happy to learn and read that you enjoyed your recent stay and we are looking forward to welcome you and offcourse your dog, back to the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Everything about the stay was top class. From the service and accommodation (Miss Potter Suite) to the exceptional food and wine in the tasting menu. Even the weather played its part- we were treated to a snowy lake and mountain view from our balcony.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cheshireview2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco F, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear cheshireview2018,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service and accommodation provided during your recent stay. We look forward having you back at the hotel again in due course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews