We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy but sparse.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Cross Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Really enjoyed our recent stay, staff friendly on reception and bar, food was very nice even though our first choice wasn't available. The position is wonderful right on the edge of the lake.
The lodge was warm, clean and well presented, however I have some hopefully, constructive criticism: the rooms were very sparse, for example no bedside lamps, no mirror in one bedroom, no real creature comforts. The kitchen really didn't have enough equipment: 4 plates, cups, forks, glasses!! what is the point of a dish washer when there is barely enough to put in it? especialy between courses.
Now to my biggest criticism, the pillows, for goodness sake, i have slept on thicker pillow cases in my time, please, please, invest an extra pound or two in some pillows that one can actually use. I had to go and buy one so that I could actually get some sleep.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows, just in case.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkimadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,295)
There are newer reviews for White Cross Bay Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,216 - 1,220 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

The site & facilities are as per brochure although the lodges are very closely packed in. Only a few have views of Lake Windermere and mostly you are surrounded by other lodges with no view at all. The weekly cost is pretty expensive but there are often special deals available for short notice holidays which can bring the cost down to a more reasonable level.
Our Lodge had all the brochure facilities but was generally bland and unwelcoming.
The site is very handy for Windermere & Ambleside and for seeing the South Lakes area in general.

Room Tip: Pick the best standard you can afford
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for your recent review. We accept that the views of the Lake from the accommodation available at White Cross Bay are limited and this is not something we advertise. We do however; have some lodges available that have a clear view of the Lake which are available to book if requested obviously subject to being available.

Here at South Lakeland Parks, we do accept that budget is key for everyone due to the current economic climate and whilst we feel that our general pricing is comparable to other accommodation available in the Lake District, we often apply many special offers throughout the season to make our holiday parks affordable and enjoyable to everyone.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed in a superior Caravan.
2 adults, 14 yr boy and girls 12 and 10.
It slept 6, 2 twin bedrooms and a master double bed.
My 14 yr old feet was hanging over the end of the bed - he's 6ft 2in.

The Caravan was very well equipt for cooking.
There was a bathroom with shower and toilet and a separate toilet.
GCH and a gas fire made this a real cosy caravan - even in October!

The Caravan I could not really fault, it was spotless!
Had a bulb which was out and next day first thing it was fixed!
The only complaint storage for clothes etc.
We stayed for a mid week break - I don't know where I would have kept my clothes if we stayed any longer?

The pool was great for the kids - but no toys etc.
there was also a gym - which I had no time for with 3 kids! But it looked quiet and had everything you needed.
There is a little park but other than that there is nothing else for them there. Maybe it was too late ion the season? They may have a kids program during the summer months?
We went for walks to the marina and fed the ducks and played board games and cards!

Had dinner in the bar - the food was magic! Healthy portions too ! :-) Nice change!
Not expensive just priced as you would expect pub grub.
There was a pool table and an amusements arcade - which the kids loved in the evening.
The little shop on site had a few things you might needs, bread, milk, rolls, bacon, beans etc.

Went for a walk into Windermere town - really nice but small town.
It was a good walk maybe about 2k? Turn left as soon as you leave the park, then straight along the main road.

Would I go back - YES! I would use this as a base and explore day time activities in the surrounding area. The staff were lovely, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for your comments with regards to White Cross Bay and we are pleased to hear that our accommodation exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed all aspects of our holiday park and the Lake District.

We apologise that the beds were not sufficient for your son. A standard single bed length in a caravan is 6ft and obviously cannot be any larger because of the limited space in a caravan bedroom. Hopefully you will come and stay with us again in the future and maybe look at staying in a lodge where the beds are longer and inline with ‘normal’ size single beds.

Thank for you for your constructive comments. It is only by hearing from our guests that we are able to act and improve on our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here in September for 3 nights. It was a special offer and we paid around £200 for 6 of us. I was a bit wary following some reviews but when we walked in to the wooden lodge it looked very clean and tidy. When we walked in to the bathroom however the toilet seat was unattached and on the floor! I contacted reception and this was sorted within 30 minutes but it does make you wonder as to the housekeeping staff!! The lodge bedding had been well washed and one of the duvet covers had a cigarette burn in it. To be honest though it was clean so it didn't worry me! One of the beds out of five was very soft and lumpy but the children didn't seem bothered by it.
The only other issue we had was the oven which had no images left on the dial and no instructions! By trial and error we eventually managed to oven cook rather than grill but instructions would have been good.
The swimming pool was top notch. Nice and warm and we spent a couple of hours each day in there. The showers and changing facilities were very modern and clean also.
All in all we enjoyed our stay. The accomodation was average but then you get what you pay for. I've no complaints about the cleanliness though! I think I would visit again if I could get another deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that overall you were pleased with the standard of your accommodation, the cleanliness and the facilities at White Cross Bay.

I would like to apologise about the toilet seat and can only assume that this was an oversight made on our behalf. I have passed your comments onto the Head Housekeeper who will look into this in more detail. We have also noted your comments with regards to the lack of the instructions for the oven and this is something we plan to implement for the forthcoming season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We booked through Hoseasons for 5 days during half term and stayed in an Ambleside Lodge. We found the lodge to be clean, warm and comfortable, a bit smaller than some we have stayed in on other parks but cosy with everything you could want. The reception staff were polite, cheerful and helpful. We used the swimming pool and unlike a previous comment we found it to be a perfect temperature for swimming and a good size pool. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and I must say the portions were generous! We thoroughly enjoyed our break and will return. Who could fault the scenery and gorgeous views?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthLakelandParks, Manager at White Cross Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments. White Cross Bay is our flagship holiday park within our portfolio and we are very pleased to read your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
442 reviews
5.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
593 reviews
2.5 km away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
783 reviews
1.8 km away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Cross Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cross Bay Holiday Park

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Hotel Class:5 star — White Cross Bay Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere in one of the most idyllic and scenic locations in the very heart of the Lake District. White Cross Bay is set within picturesque woodland, and with red deer and rabbits as local residents, a break here is sure to take you back to nature. There’s something for everyone, whether you’re looking for a quiet break or active escape. Enjoy the indoor pool, gym, spa pool, sauna and steam room to feel totally rejuvenated. For the more adventurous there’s an abundance of local walking tracks with stunning views of the Lake District or try the Treetop trek in Brockhole National Park. White Cross Bay is located between Ambleside and Windermere so there is a wide variety of pubs, cafes, restaurants. Popular eateries in the local area are Pedros, The Flying Pig, The Drunken Duck, The Albert, Zefferellis and The Wild Boar that has a very special reputation locally and nationally for its quality of food and drink experience and White Cross Bay even have their own marina on Lake Windermere with boat launching facilities – a walk along the boardwalk to see the boats and ducks is a must! The perfect way to finish your day is with a homemade meal and drink in the restaurant and bar on site. Why not take advantage of our holiday childcare facility for children aged 2 - 8yrs, and enjoy a few hours to yourself? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Cross Bay Leisure Park And Marina
White Cross Bay Leisure Park & Marina Hotel Windermere
White Cross Bay Holiday Park Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing