We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windermere suites ..delight!!”
Review of Windermere Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windermere Suites
Ranked #27 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Windermere suites ..delight!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A delightful 3 night stay,in a wonderful location.
Staff,rooms,service,breakfast,cleanliness was really first class.
If you are looking for a place to stay in the lakes,then this superb place is a must to stay at..
Will definately return here...fab!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M70evs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    27
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
399
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We chose to stay here for our 10 year anniversary. After reading many reviews about many hotels and B&B's in the lakes we found this one. Based on the high rating given by other visitors we thought we'd just go for it. We stayed for 2 nights mid-week just before Easter.
On our arrival we were a little early but we were permitted to leave our car whilst we explored the local area. Upon our return we checked in without any hassle. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were shown to our room, the Cartmel suit, and given a brief tour of the facilities before being left alone.
The room... was stunning. We opted for an additional package to include champagne and chocolates and the bed was scattered with rose petals. The decor is second to no other hotel i have stayed in and the attention to detail was superb. The room was totally spotless and even my cleanaholic partner was impressed. Not even a single water droplet on the taps...
The bathroom was simply marvellous. A double Jacuzzi bath with mood lighting and a wonderful walk in shower with illuminated shower head. The size of the bathroom rivalled most normal hotel rooms.
Each evening we were asked to choose from the breakfast menu for the following morning. Choice is excellent for both meat lovers and vegetarians. I had the full English on both mornings followed by oats or granola and my partner had the vegi option. This was quite possibly the best breakfast we've ever eaten. Breakfast is brought to your room at a time to suit you as well as an offer to lay it all out on the table for you and also clear away afterwards.
The only gripe i had was the bed. Though it was huge and well-presented i just couldn’t get comfy. I’m used to a softer bed but that’s just my preference. Other than this the stay was perfect. Staff couldn’t do enough for you and had some good recommendations for places to eat and visit. I must however recommend a restaurant we used on our first night... Porto in bowness. The food is to die for and we would visit again and again if we could afford to.

Overall we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a break at Windermere. Ideally suited to couples looking for a romantic getaway or for the solo traveller who wished to indulge…

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cartmel suit and we would highly recommend it. Also be sure to visit Porto in bowne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our stay was a surprise 50th birthday present for my husband. I was terrified he wasn't going to like it, but it exceeded all my expectations and he loved it too. The staff were very helpful; I am not used to booking things and rang them loads but they didn't mind. The location is great, the room was brilliant and we loved the magic cupboard through which breakfast was delivered. The breakfast was delicious especially the granola. We had the romance package which was a perfect touch. wil definitely go again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel and Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I visited Windermere Suites for 2 nights at the end of Feb this year and I was very impressed! On arriving, the friendly staff took us up to our room where we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and some home meade choccies and the most stunning room. Every detail of the room was perfect and it was designed to a very high standard. Then we entered the bathroom, which was amazing and we kept finding little bits of fun including LED lighting when the taps were turned on and the lighting changed depending on the temperature of the water and the chromotherapy lighting, which meant you were really able to relax. The bath was the best bit, a jacuzzi, where we enjoyed the champagne.

The staff helped us choose restaurants for both of the nights and they were also excellent. Being only a 5 minute walk from Windermere and a 15 minute walk down to the lake at Bowness, it is in a perfect location.

And finally, the breakfasts. Well they were AMAZING! You got a choice each day from a selection of cereals, toasts and fruit and then a selection of hot food too, all of which was served in your room at a time that suited you.

The whole feel to the hotel was lovely and the staff were extremely accomodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be the perfect place for a proposal (not that I was that lucky...) or celebrating a special anniversary, or just like me for a romantic weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

very welcoming staff, lovely breakfast and truly breathtaking room!! A stay i wont forget in a hurry and for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: keswick suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby_2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
6.4 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
0.7 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Suites

Property: Windermere Suites
Address: New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,516 - ₹ 21,723
Hotel Class:5 star — Windermere Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 super luxury suites aimed toward romantics & honeymooners wanting somewhere very special, each suite contains its own dining area and lounge, walk in dressing room, out of this world bathrooms with airbaths with tv's above & superking hand made beds. The Windermere Suites were the winner of the AA's 'Funkiest B&B' award for 2010 and are also finalists in the 2012 Conde Nast Johansen's Awards for Excellence, and Winners of Cumbria Tourisms 'Best Guest Accommodation' These butler-serviced suites offer designer luxury set in the natural beauty of the Lake District. The 8 super luxury suites are aimed toward romantics & honeymooners wanting somewhere very special, each suite contains its own dining area and lounge, walk in dressing room, out of this world bathrooms with airbaths with tv's above & superking hand made beds. With a 5-star Guest Accommodation rating from the AA, suites come with luxury bathrooms and modern furniture from designers such as Philippe Starck. Each suite features a handmade, silver-leaf Frank Hudson super-king bed. All suites have 42-inch LCD TVs, crystal lights and free Wi-Fi. A hearty Cumbria platter or continental breakfast, with freshly ground coffee, is delivered to your suite every morning. Breakfast is served at a time to suit you. A room service menu is also available. Windermere Suites are just a 2-minute walk from the town centre and Windermere Train Station. Lake Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, home to the 'World Of Beatrix Potter' are also within easy walking distance. Guests receive free spa and health club membership at the Old England Hotel, which is just a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Windermere Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Windermere
Windermere Suites Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing