We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“True gourmet food in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 41 - US$ 54
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“True gourmet food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The lucky guests of the Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant are able to enjoy a top-notch breakfast every morning as part of their room reservation, but the restaurant is open to all visitors for dinner (reservations required). It is a small, intimate, elegant restaurant with only 12 tables (as I recall) and the food is truly "gourmet" in the best sense of the word, beautifully presented and served. This restaurant would have no trouble competing with the finest restaurants in London, and is a perfect place for a special celebration.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We do have 12 tables well remembered.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast during your stay and would recommend us for a special occasion.
Thanks again for your lovely review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    27
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We arrived to the restaurant early, but still felt looked after and had a glass of champagne in the lounge before moving to the main restaurant. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the owners made the point to introduce themselves to us. The food was creative, well presented and most importantly tasted good. Which is fantastic at £40 for three courses. The waiting staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs... Even when I knocked my glass of red wine on the carpet, the owner did not kick up a fuss and was just as friendly. Very much recommended, and after seeing pictures of the rooms, I wish we had booked up a night with them too....!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gracey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and food. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A Candidate For The Great British Menu?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Superb food and service to match. There are three chefs here who all do a really good job, the waitresses are pretty good too so what more is to be said? Give it a go!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor - what a title!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We celebrated our silver wedding with dinner at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive without being invasive and the food was absolutely wonderful. Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your evening at Cedar Manor, and thank you for choosing us for such an important celebration.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious and interesting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stay here often and always eat in the restaurant at least once. We had yet another delicious meal but I really felt the need to comment on the dessert this time. I had the nutmeg custard,cardamon doughnuts and raspberry sorbet. It is the best dessert I have had for some time. Anyone who would like a quality meal should definitely give Cedar Manor a try.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BingleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review on dinner at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with your feedback, particularly Mike, our pastry chef. He is currently working on a new dessert menu to be ready towards the end of April.
We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan and the team at Cedar Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing