We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and we'll be back!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briardene Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briardene Guest House
Ranked #82 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Bury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just had 5 nights at the Briardene Guest House and would recommend it to anyone! Sam welcomed us on our arrival, showed us to the attic room (yes, narrow stairs as in someone else's review however there is a heavy wooden chest of drawers in the room so not that narrow!). She gave us lots of information about the area and provided an uptodate local weather forecast.
The room was tastefully decorated, the king size bed comfortable, with two chairs and a small table. There was also a TV with a DVD player.
We were given a 'breakfast menu' that had many choices, which we had to complete every evening. The breakfasts were of exceptional quality, and Sam joined us everyday for a natter. The complimentary bottle of wine was lovely, and everyday Sam provided 2 bottles of water (fridge provided in the room), tea, coffee and biscuits.
All shower gel, shampoo and bath foam was provided, and towels were changed every other day for fresh ones.
Having previously stayed in guest houses where I have felt as though I was intruding, I did not at Sam and David's and I look forward to returning soon.

We can recommend Lazy Daisy's and Magic Wok (both in Windermere) and The Sun Inn at Crook. Also the blueberry scones at Ambleside are delicious!

Room Tip: The attic is up a narrow set of stairs but feels separate from the other rooms and is not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We had a lovely three days at Briardene and would recommend it to anyone. Rooms comfy, nice shower, wine, coffee and biscuits in the room and a breakfast selection (and quality) that would rival anywhere we have been. As first time visitors to the area we got some great advice too from Sam & David.

Room Tip: Take DVD's as t.v. reception in area is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We have just got back from our holiday and had a wonderful time, alot to do with where we were staying.

David and Sam were very welcoming, extremely friendly and had a lovely home which they shared with lots of thought. Our room was a very good size and cosy and homely, we had all that we needed, TV, fridge, clean towels frequently, lovely huge comfy bed, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and always kept clean and tidy. The menu for breakfast was vast and you could have what you wanted and it was always presented and cooked very well, didn't ever keep us waiting. They always offered information on areas to visit and had plenty of leaflets etc available in the room.

Couldn't have wished for a nicer stay and it made our holiday all that much special. Sam is very considerate and makes sure any special occasion is not forgotten by leaving cards of good wishes. Very good value for money and will recommend their B&B and certainly if returning to Lakes would stay there again.

Thank you David and Sam for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfrowde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed for two nights in this guest house, on 26th and 27th October , after reading very good reviews by other guests on the Trip Advisor site. We were not disappointed, everything was as expected. The room was lovely and had everything required for a short break: fridge, TV, coffee, tea and biscuits with a very good en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was freshly prepared , very good quantity,quality and variety. Sam, the owner, made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to advise us on walks, pubs and restaurants. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank academiaa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and i have just returned from a three day Wedding Anniversary break, from which we stayed at the Briadene Guest House in Windermere. The Victorian room was not the largest but yet tastefully decorated with a supberb king size victorian bed. The room was very clean, the breakfast excellent choice and Dave and Sam were very wellcoming, nothing was to much trouble and nothing had been overlooked from bottles of water in your fridge daily to wine a choice of drinks and biscuits which were daily put in our room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 km away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 km away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#8 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 km away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#12 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briardene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briardene Guest House

Property: Briardene Guest House
Address: 4 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Briardene is a beautiful Victorian property built using local lakeland stone & slate. 3 tastefully decorated en-suites rooms all with king-size beds, 4-poster or brass beds. Extensive breakfast menu using local produce. Exclusively non-smoking. Private off-road parking for all guests. Sorry no children or pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briardene Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing