We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Guest House and Perfect Hostess” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rose
Ranked #56 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest House and Perfect Hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

There are a lot of nice touches that indicate that the White Rose is in experienced hands, for example a bottle opener and wine glasses, fold away trays, a DVD player (with a small selection of films) and unfussy, but very pleasant decor.

The hostess, Caroline, was very warm and welcoming and made us feel as if she genuinely really enjoyed having us there.

Other reviews have mentioned the small bathroom and ours was small, but clean and fully functioning. I would rather have a small bathroom, than have to use one across the corridor or, worse still, share!

The breakfast was lovely and, although it is served in a slightly restrictive half hour slot (but I do understand why and this is standard for guest houses), it was as leisurely as we wished it to be.

Autumn had well and truly set in by the time of our visit, and the White Rose was always lovely and warm – such a pleasure to come back to after a damp, cold day out and about.

The White Rose is perfectly situated for Windermere (a full minute’s walk to the centre), but is a good 15 minute walk to Bowness, where the main action (and access to the lake) is. I am sure there are buses, but we didn’t look to use them. A taxi from Bowness back to the White Rose was readily available and cost just £3 before midnight, so the distance really isn’t an issue.

Would fully recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you so much for takimg time to leave a review of your stay at the White Rose.
We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We do love our job - and meeting people like you makes the job even more enjoyable!!
Hopefully we will see you again, should you return to the area.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for a week celebrating our honeymoon. Caroline couldn’t have done more to make us feel so welcome. We had room 3 which was immaculate. White Rose breakfasts are delicious (you didn’t need lunch-felt full all day). Caroline advised us of all the wonderful places to visit. The B&B is in a perfect location for Lake Windermere and all of the Lake District. We recommend this B&B highly, wonderful position, delightful landlady, incredibly clean and excellent value for money. Thank you Caroline!!!! Rebecca & Stephen

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
It was great that you chose the White Rose for your honeymoon and it was lovely meeting you both. Thank you for leaving such a positive review!!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves whilst in the beautiful Lake Disrtrict - and I have missed your smiling faces at breakfast time!!
Good luck in your married life - and hope to see you both again!
Caroline
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Another wonderfuk stay i cant reccomend this b&b enough caroline is a wonderful host the whole place is wonderful
we will be booking again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyspud5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thankyou so much for leaving positive feedback on your recent stay at the White Rose.
We're so pleased that your enjoyed another stay here - and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at The White Rose for 3 nights and it was the best stay ever! Caroline is a great host, always making sure that we had what we needed and always going this extra mile for us like giving us all the tips regarding places to go and how to get there and always checking up on us... it was like visiting your mum :)
We stayed in the rear bedroom, which was nice, clean and cosy. Food was delicious and it kept us going on our days out.
We will be recommending The White Rose to all our friends and we will be staying there again before moving to the beautiful Lake District for good!
Magda and Jarek

Room Tip: Bedroom 6 is quiet and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay at the White Rose - we really appreciate our guests' feedback!
It was great meeting you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully you will manage to move to this beautiful area very soon - I am sure that you will love it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is a very well located 4 star B&B that was recommended by a friend in the first place. The host is very nice and welcoming and breakfasts are amazing. The room was very comfortable and clean so I will be recommending the place myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaMT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you and Boris and I'm pleased that you got home safely. We wish you all the best and hope you will have a long and happy life together.
Hopefully you will find time to visit the beautiful Lake District in the not too distant future! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#47 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 km away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 km away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#30 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 km away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#67 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 km away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#36 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose

Property: White Rose
Address: Broad Street | Windermere. The Lake District. Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,290 - ₹ 7,434
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Alison would love to welcome you to the White Rose in Windermere where you can enjoy the lovely en-suite bedrooms with a large drink and nibble selection on our hospitality trays.Our delicious and traditional English breakfast will set you up for the day.Any dietry requirements catered for[Vegetarian,gluton free ect]Just let us know on booking. The house is close to the centre of Windermere village which has various restaraunts and cafes,we are only a 20 minute walk or a five minute drive from Bowness - where you can take a cruise around the Lake. Grasmere and Keswick are also within easy driving distance of the White Rose. We are a 5 minute walk from the train station for those arriving by train. There is a fantastic bus service which runs from Windermere to Ambleside grassmere keswick. Also tours with the mountain goat will pick you up from us for full or half day tours.Ten Lake tour, Hill top [Beatrix Potters farm] and a mountain tour.These tours are highly recomended. We offer special 3, 4 and 7 night deals throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Windermere
White Rose Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing