We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,090 results
Traveller rating
483
394
118
63
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
483
394
118
63
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room dappers bar scones no lift feature room one way system car park third floor travelzoo deal traditional hotel cream tea lovely hotel on arrival top floor evening meal secret escapes lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,090 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We visited here on a Saturday evening (with stop-over) to attend a friend's 60th Birthday celebration. There were 16 of us in the party, and we took up 2 tables at the Murder Mystery dinner event that the hotel was hosting that evening. We all had an excellent time at the event, which I personally thought was a great success. In terms of the hotel itself, our room (on the third floor) was very comfortable, clean and spacious with a view over the main street. The breakfast was most tasty and plentiful, and there was an excellent variety of main courses from which to choose. We had a small wait for a table at breakfast, but not excessive, and the table was very quickly tidied and prepared for us once it became available. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, which all contributed to a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank PaulandChristineXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My wife and enjoyed a Travel Zoo overnight break at the George Hotel which is located in the centre of the historic market town of Penrith, just off the M6 and handy for Keswick and The Lakes.

The George Hotel was once owned by a Duke of Devonshire, for about one hundred years and for many years retained its title of 'the hotel of Penrith'. It's old world charm has been retained and it has a great car park right behind it so it's easy to unload/load up there with easy access to the hotel. The modern arcade next door used to belong to the hotel and was once a garage for the great and good visitors to leave their motors whilst staying.

There's a wealth of local shops there including an old family grocers where generations of the same family have provided all sorts of victuals and there is also oldest original gents outfitters in Penrith, both yards from the front door of the hotel. John Norris the famous fishing tackle and country pursuits clothing shop is a five minute walk away and well worth the effort to have a look at.

Our room was comfortable and its bathroom had been newly refurbished with an excellent bath and shower with good water pressure.

We had a welcoming afternoon tea with scones, strawberry jam and clotted cream on arrival and later enjoyed an excellent three course meal, scallops starter, salmon main course and mouth watering black forest chocolate pudding: white onion soup, chicken with mushroom sauce and a deconstructed cheese cake pudding in the intimate dining room. In the morning we each had a full Cumberland breakfast in the lounge area although there was a wide choice of alternatives available.

We found all the staff to be cheerful and very attentive and had an enjoyable chat with the wine waiter who was from Turkey.

I have no hesitation in recommending the George Hotel and a visit to Penrith as a great venue before a foray into the Lakes.

jamesbrotherhood

Room Tip: We had a quieter room to the rear which we enjoyed. There is a chair lift to the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jamesbrotherhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This Hotel is situated in a hystorical area and hystorical building. Very traditional furniture, everything want you to remember to the great times in the past.
However, the Hotel is fuctioning today and serves for today's guests.
Cons:
Rooms are small, no elevator to floors, no fitness possibilities, nice looking but uncomfortable furniture/seats at the restaurant
Pros:
Good food at the restaurant, wifi available, helpful stuff

Room Tip: My room faced to the backyard...
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mihaly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Had a great time here. Very comfortable room and the staff were great, so friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful, a good choice and always served with a smile. I can recommend this hotel, the only down side is the lack of a lift, but they do have a stairlift.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosyred_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

From the moment of arrival found all the staff most helpful,hotel is like a time warp with lashing`s of Victorian splendour and charm,food was excellent served in lovely surrounding by helpful staff ,we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews