We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morning Coffee”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My review is about a Penrith institution, morning coffee at the George, which I have enjoyed for twenty years (almost since Bonnie Prince Charlie in 1745). The Hotel and its public rooms have an olde worlde charm which is increasingly rare. the public lounge area is comfortable, warm and well served by traditional staff. The coffee, teas and cakes are wonderful. I am talking myself into another visit shortly!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We visited here on a Saturday evening (with stop-over) to attend a friend's 60th Birthday celebration. There were 16 of us in the party, and we took up 2 tables at the Murder Mystery dinner event that the hotel was hosting that evening. We all had an excellent time at the event, which I personally thought was a great success. In terms of the hotel itself, our room (on the third floor) was very comfortable, clean and spacious with a view over the main street. The breakfast was most tasty and plentiful, and there was an excellent variety of main courses from which to choose. We had a small wait for a table at breakfast, but not excessive, and the table was very quickly tidied and prepared for us once it became available. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, which all contributed to a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PaulandChristineXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My wife and enjoyed a Travel Zoo overnight break at the George Hotel which is located in the centre of the historic market town of Penrith, just off the M6 and handy for Keswick and The Lakes.

The George Hotel was once owned by a Duke of Devonshire, for about one hundred years and for many years retained its title of 'the hotel of Penrith'. It's old world charm has been retained and it has a great car park right behind it so it's easy to unload/load up there with easy access to the hotel. The modern arcade next door used to belong to the hotel and was once a garage for the great and good visitors to leave their motors whilst staying.

There's a wealth of local shops there including an old family grocers where generations of the same family have provided all sorts of victuals and there is also oldest original gents outfitters in Penrith, both yards from the front door of the hotel. John Norris the famous fishing tackle and country pursuits clothing shop is a five minute walk away and well worth the effort to have a look at.

Our room was comfortable and its bathroom had been newly refurbished with an excellent bath and shower with good water pressure.

We had a welcoming afternoon tea with scones, strawberry jam and clotted cream on arrival and later enjoyed an excellent three course meal, scallops starter, salmon main course and mouth watering black forest chocolate pudding: white onion soup, chicken with mushroom sauce and a deconstructed cheese cake pudding in the intimate dining room. In the morning we each had a full Cumberland breakfast in the lounge area although there was a wide choice of alternatives available.

We found all the staff to be cheerful and very attentive and had an enjoyable chat with the wine waiter who was from Turkey.

I have no hesitation in recommending the George Hotel and a visit to Penrith as a great venue before a foray into the Lakes.


jamesbrotherhood

Room Tip: We had a quieter room to the rear which we enjoyed. There is a chair lift to the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jamesbrotherhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This Hotel is situated in a hystorical area and hystorical building. Very traditional furniture, everything want you to remember to the great times in the past.
However, the Hotel is fuctioning today and serves for today's guests.
Cons:
Rooms are small, no elevator to floors, no fitness possibilities, nice looking but uncomfortable furniture/seats at the restaurant
Pros:
Good food at the restaurant, wifi available, helpful stuff

Room Tip: My room faced to the backyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mihaly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Had a great time here. Very comfortable room and the staff were great, so friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful, a good choice and always served with a smile. I can recommend this hotel, the only down side is the lack of a lift, but they do have a stairlift.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosyred_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
1.9 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
10.2 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
2.2 km away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Devonshire Street, Penrith CA11 7SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: ₹ 7,129 - ₹ 13,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is something of a local treasure, situated in the pretty market town of Penrith, perfectly located to explore the Eden valley with Ullswater and the Lake District just a few miles away. The lounge is popular with locals for morning coffee and cake, lunches and afternoon teas. The 2 AA Rosette Devonshire Restaurant's silver and ruby red decor, truly sets the scene for a superb dining experience, with menu’s that focus on simple, fresh, local produce. For more casual drinking and dining, relax in the vibrant Dappers Bar within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Penrith, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing