We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional English pub with great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel is easy to find as it is a grand, imposing old building near the station. Parking seems problematic, but if you leave your car temporarily at the nearby fast-food outlet, which is clearly visible from the roundabout, the staff at the hotel will advise you as to safe, overnight parking without paying the charges at the station! Guests should feel free to ask about anything, as everyone is so helpful. My room was ensuite and very reasonably priced. I also liked the old fashioned decor as it added to the ambience of the building. The stained glass windows around the bar are a rare feature nowadays and it was all reminiscent of the days of steam, with the added bonus of electricity and plumbing, of course! I arrived too late for dinner, but the deserts looked excellent! I would come back next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eve1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We visited the Station Hotel on an early recce of Penrith on our recent holiday, stopping in for a coffee and a pint before carrying on.

Upon hearing we were camping in Troutbeck and would have almost 12 hours from check-out to our midnight coach home, the lady at the bar immediately offered to let us store our bags in the hotel on our last day, so we could spend it exploring and enjoying ourselves. There was no "if you get dinner" or "we'll charge X for storage", just "and if you like it's steak night that day, so you could stay for dinner and you're welcome to stay in with us until we close". Such a generous offer!

And clearly the offer was genuine - when we arrived on our last day the previous lady wasn't on duty, but every member of staff had the attitude of "of course you must keep your bags here!" "of course we're happy to do that!".

We stopped in the bar a few times that day and every time were met with warmth and welcome and friendship and excellent service.

The steak dinner was excellent. Delicious chips, and a blue steak perfectly cooked and tender. The bottled ale available at the bar was great, and prices for food and drink were very reasonable. We also had an early lunch here - selections of tapas dishes - and that was amazing. Every dish was delicious, and the tapas came with a really good side salad. Good sized portions so we struggled to finish it all!

That evening, a birthday celebration for a 90th birthday took place in one room while the locals enjoyed sports on the TVs in another, but there was still lots of space and lots of attention for the rest of us who came in for meals or drinks - service was fantastic even when it got really busy, and the whole place was lively, fun, warm and comfortable. Can absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a one night stay on route to a Family Function .From the moment we walked through the door the staff couldnt be more helpful .we had decided to try the Steak Night Special and were not dissapointed in any way whatsoever The steak perfectly done as requested . My initial thought that I might try a dessert was soon gone as I had no room after the Steak .We had a few drinks in the Bar and found the Regulars Friendly and welcoming .We Will use this little Gem Again superbly located and relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We are staying in the station hotel for several day. Has the best meal of our trip this evening,pm the special roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, mash and perfectly cooked vegetables, and at least half the price of every other evening meal, none of which came close to this one.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aspengrovesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Arrived late so had limited choice in hotels. Thought that at 60 pound without breakfast it was somewhat overpriced. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was compact, warm and comfortable. BUT, there was no information on the room and had to hunt out a staff memb6in the early morning to find out how to get the shower working. Also shower head was stained with what appeared to be dried blood. Will not be recommending to friends.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcourtney, General Manager at Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi Eric, thank you for your feedback. Firstly I would like to point out that far from being overpriced, £60 room only is well below the average price that you would expect to pay anywhere around the lake district. Secondly, your 'hunting' out a member of staff merely involved you walking down to our reception area to ask a question. why the big spin on this I don't know. Thirdly to operate the electric shower you only had to turn back on the big red switch located outside the en suite with the word 'SHOWER' on it, These are always left on to avoid such an issue so I can only assume you turned it off, thinking you were turning the bathroom light on. As for dried blood on the fixed shower head, I've been to inspect it and can only assume by this point your imagination was starting to run wild!! In short this whole review is based on the fact that you were unable to figure out how to operate an electric shower, our staff member came to your assistance, yet you still feel aggrieved somewhat. Why then when you checked out didn't you mention anything, when asked had your stay been ok, your reply was 'Super, thank you'. Why people hide behind a keyboard is beyond me, talk to your hosts and help them to help you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.6 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
0.3 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
4.4 km away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#45 of 65 in Penrith
28 reviews
0.5 km away
Foundry 34
Foundry 34
#38 of 65 in Penrith
85 reviews
0.6 km away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#7 of 65 in Penrith
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Address: Castlegate, Penrith CA11 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: ₹ 4,884 - ₹ 6,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant Penrith, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing