We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; in need of attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2016

More of a pub with rooms than a hotel.

The Station is in a great location, right next to the castle park. There is no Reception - it literally is one end of a bar - and when we arrived, discovered there is no parking either, other than 3 public bay spaces outside, which were all full. Had to leave my car in the car park of local supermarket or McDonalds with whom they have 'an understanding' when a hotel business card is left on the dashboard. I felt uneasy about this, although nothing bad happened. It was not exactly a fun trek either, when leaving with all the bags in the rain. And I note that 'free parking' is advertised on the website, which is stretching the truth.

This was a mid-week stay, which I suspect was just as well, as the room was next to the ladies' 'powder room' from the bar, which I imagine could be quite rowdy at the weekend.

The room itself was spacious and had a new carpet and some very substantial Victorian furniture, which did add to the sense of faded glory. I travel a lot and this place had a forgotten, trapped-in-time feel. The bedroom was clean, the bed was comfortable, there were plenty of towels and some thoughtful touches - like a fan (not PAT tested) for the recent hot weather, a well-stocked hospitality tray and a hairdryer. However, the wiring in the room was worrying: Everything was plugged into an extension lead and these were draped around the room.

It was the bathroom which was really disconcerting. More dodgy wiring. The floor was covered with some sort of industrial vinyl, which, judging by the soap and water stains on it, had not been scrubbed in a long time. In fact, none of the fittings had been given any attention for about 30 years. There had obviously been two different kinds of shower screen, as the bracket from the previous one is still attached to the wall. An odd, water-damaged two-by-four holds the current screen to the wall and the numerous vases of plastic flowers do not detract from the lack of attention to detail. There was no hot water for a bath in the evening, although the following morning it was scalding.

There was no breakfast included in the price and none was offered, even for an additional cost. Although everyone I met seemed friendly enough, I don't think the hotel side of things is their real focus. This is a shame, because, with some time and effort, this tired and neglected building could be such a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: This room was above the bar and on the road - which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Posysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms, good fresh cooked pub fare - only wished we'd been able to take advantage of Sunday roast which looked amazing, fab hosts - thank you Bev & Tony

Would definitely book in here again

.…….............................................

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank janetcocker27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Just stayed here with a large group of mates doing the C2C. Checked in, the reception is basically the end of the bar counter. The bar is mainly frequented by work men. The car park is a waste piece of land facing the hotel in which you place a card in your car window, presumably this must be to avoid a parking ticket. The rooms were lovely, as was the shower, the staff were friendly and could not have helped us more with the bikes and luggage storage. The bar was very noisy and the locals were swearing quite loud, this did not bother us but it might bother others. Bev served us breakfast and was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My sister who does not eat fry ups, was offered a sandwich to take away, or basically asked "what do you fancy and I will get it for you" Well looked after. Personally I would stay again. I had no problems what so ever.

Room Tip: The bar is very loud. So preferably far away from the bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie005_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Location good, check in easy and straightforward. Room spacious and quiet on the top floor (quad room). The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I did have some niggles with the quad room, though. The single beds in the quad room were uncomfortable and you can feel the springs in the mattress. This led to a great debate over who would get to sleep in the double bed, which was fairly comfortable. The electric shower gave me problems and spurted irregular bursts of burning hot water. I ended up using an additional shower that was hooked up to the mains water, but this took eons to heat up and had a lot of residues on the shower head.

Room Tip: Quad room on top floor is quiet, although single beds probably best suited for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaed87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Came across this place while walking round Penrith. It didn't look much from out side but we are glad we went in. A very friendly waitress greeted us and sat us down . I had slow cooked lamb with potatoes veg and minted gravy. My husband had steak pie and chips. We decided to go back the following night, we both had the specials which was Hake. It came with crushed curried New potatoes but as I don't like curry they changed that to chips and veg for me. That along with a couple of drinks came to around £30 each night. Did not have Room for pudding which was a shame as they sounded very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.8 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
454 reviews
0.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
908 reviews
4.4 km away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#46 of 65 in Penrith
28 reviews
0.3 km away
Foundry 34
Foundry 34
#38 of 65 in Penrith
84 reviews
0.6 km away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#7 of 65 in Penrith
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Address: Castlegate, Penrith CA11 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: ₹ 4,854 - ₹ 6,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant Penrith, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing