We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
379
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
379
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane nigel fruit salad quality furniture b and b warm welcome town centre room was spotless local area visited keswick high standard a lovely stay great hosts few minutes walk bay window lovely couple street parking local walks
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

My wife Kerry and I recently stayed here for two nights. And what a lovely stay it was. The hosts, Jane and Nigel, were very welcoming and helpful. The room was spotless with a decent size tv and quality furniture. The breakfast was spot on and set you up nicely for a day of walking, which is why most people go to the Lakes. Plenty of local knowledge was available if required too. There is no doubt that on our next visit to Keswick, Clarence House will be our base. The only downside is that we never stayed longer.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you both we're so glad you had a lovely stay and are totally chuffed with your very kind review. It's a real joy meeting people who love the Lakes and walking the fells look forward to seeing you and Kerry back in Keswick soon Best wishes Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Another great stay at Clarence House, high standards still maintained by Jane and Nigel who were very helpful and accommodating. We brought our friends with us this time to introduce them to walking in the lakes. Great breakfast as usual, good facilities and excellent hosts we look forward to returning again next year.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pinkyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write these lovely comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Keswick and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Jane and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. Jane and Nigel are perfect hosts with great knowledge of the local area, lovely friendly people.
Our room was spotless and comfortable and the breakfasts were plentiful each morning.
We would absolutely not hesitate to stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarlyT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thanks Carly for staying with us and writing such great comments, we enjoyed meeting and chatting with you both :-) and very much forward to seeing you both again soon. Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We stayed five nights here and thought ourselves extremely well looked after, the warmth of Jane and Nigel's welcome setting the tone for what was a lovely stay. The house is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean and our room was very comfortable. Breakfasts were great and the location is perfect - a quiet spot but just a short, pleasant and easy stroll to the town centre. Keswick is the perfect town too, friendly and welcoming and clearly a 'real' place, not just a tourist hub and the surroundings are incredibly beautiful. If you want a great Bed and Breakfast at a very keen price then you could not do better.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Thank you Louis for taking the time to write a really great review, it's very much appreciated, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clarence House and had a wonderful time in Keswick. It was great to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again. Take care Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Good location - a few minutes walk from the centre with numerous pubs and restaurants. A very nicely furnished room and a very good freshly cooked breakfast (Nigel is clearly a perfectionist with his eggs). Nigel and Jane were extremely friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable of Keswick and the Lake District in general. They offer advice and guidance on the walks on the fells with the benefit of having done them themselves.
An excellent week.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mike and Jean,

Thank you so much for the excellent review, it is very kind of you to write this. It was a pleasure meeting you both and hearing what adventures you got up to each day. Nigel does take much pride and care with the breakfasts, especially his eggs :-) Look forward to welcoming you again at Clarence House next time you are in Keswick. Thanks again Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews