We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
378
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
378
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane nigel fresh fruit salad quality furniture warm welcome b and b town centre local area cooked breakfast room was spotless high standard a lovely stay choice of cereals great hosts few minutes walk lovely couple many thanks quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We stayed five nights here and thought ourselves extremely well looked after, the warmth of Jane and Nigel's welcome setting the tone for what was a lovely stay. The house is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean and our room was very comfortable. Breakfasts were great and the location is perfect - a quiet spot but just a short, pleasant and easy stroll to the town centre. Keswick is the perfect town too, friendly and welcoming and clearly a 'real' place, not just a tourist hub and the surroundings are incredibly beautiful. If you want a great Bed and Breakfast at a very keen price then you could not do better.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Thank you Louis for taking the time to write a really great review, it's very much appreciated, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clarence House and had a wonderful time in Keswick. It was great to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again. Take care Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Good location - a few minutes walk from the centre with numerous pubs and restaurants. A very nicely furnished room and a very good freshly cooked breakfast (Nigel is clearly a perfectionist with his eggs). Nigel and Jane were extremely friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable of Keswick and the Lake District in general. They offer advice and guidance on the walks on the fells with the benefit of having done them themselves.
An excellent week.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Mike and Jean,

Thank you so much for the excellent review, it is very kind of you to write this. It was a pleasure meeting you both and hearing what adventures you got up to each day. Nigel does take much pride and care with the breakfasts, especially his eggs :-) Look forward to welcoming you again at Clarence House next time you are in Keswick. Thanks again Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

You could not want for more. The proprietors are very knowledgable and helpful for walking or cycling. The hospitality is second to none. The rooms are spotlessly clean & have everything you need. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you Ian and Liz for your fantastic review, it was great meeting you both, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clarence and also in Keswick. We really enjoyed chatting about Tour de Yorkshire and look forward to seeing you again. Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Very nice room, lovely breakfast, excellent location and really welcoming hosts who are very helpful with lots of local knowledge. Perfect B&B for a weekend away (or longer stay). Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary-with1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Gary, it was a pleasure having you guys staying with us and well done on climbing Scafell Pike on such a gorgeous day. Thank you for writing such a fantastic review, it's great to get such positive feedback and hear how much you enjoyed staying in Keswick. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon, especially when you brought such amazing weather. Thanks Jane and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited Clarence House B&B last weekend for a couple of nights. From the first point of contact before and on our arrival Jane And Nigel were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our room was immaculately presented and very comfortable with additional touches of chocolates and luxury shower products. Breakfast was amazing and cooked to perfection with lots of choice. The B&B is a short walk into Keswick centre so located ideally for the local walks, views, shopping and dining. Jane & Nigel were very helpful in offering advice for Catbells and Castlecrag and we loved the recommended boat trip over to the start of Catbells. They have walked 213 of the 214 Wainwright walks so have valuable and extensive knowledge that really help to make your trip more personal. We had an absolutely fantastic time and you're both doing an amazing job!! Thank you so much, we can't wait to pencil a date in our calender for another visit!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GemmaB0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Gemma and Andrew, A big thank you for your wonderful review, it's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clarence House. We really enjoyed chatting and hearing how you got on with Catbells, it is the perfect way to start the walk with a mini cruise over the Lake :-) Thank you again it was a true pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Jane and Nigel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews