We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
378
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
378
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane nigel fresh fruit salad quality furniture warm welcome b and b town centre local area cooked breakfast room was spotless high standard a lovely stay choice of cereals great hosts few minutes walk lovely couple many thanks quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and were greeted warmly by Jane and Nigel, even though we arrived quite late on Friday night. The room and ensuite were spotless. The town centre was a 2 minute walk away and when we arrived back on Saturday evening the tea/coffee/milk had been replenished along with clean towels and a quick clean of the shower room. The breakfast was brilliant and the sausages were lush...we would definitely return!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Dear Michele, Thank you for your really kind review. It was lovely meeting you and Barry and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clarence House and look forward to seeing you again. Jane and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We had a lovely week at Clarence House, Nigel and Jane were very welcoming and knowledgeable of the local area, nothing was too much trouble. Room was immaculate and very nice breakfast, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Emma, thank you for your wonderful comments, we really enjoyed you staying with us and hearing each day of your walks and adventures around Keswick. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. Jane and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

I've just stayed here for the first time since the new owners took over a couple of weeks ago. It is still a really nice place to stay and very little has changed, the new owners Jane and Nigel are very nice and you still get a very warm welcome with the same added touches to make your stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. Jane's collection of her own Lakeland paintings adorning the walls are worth the visit alone and I look forward to staying again in the near future. Thank you to Jane and Nigel for such a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room in this B&B but if you are really picky Room 3 is the biggest.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane W, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Richard, Thank you for your very kind comments it was a pleasure meeting you both and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Our 2 nights in Keswick were made all the more memorable having stayed with Karen & Richard at Clarence house. After a warm welcome, Karen was kind enough to lend us some walking maps for the next day, & to suggest some spots for lunch & dinner. We had room 3, which is upstairs one flight, & we were pleased with how much space we had. There is a table & chairs at a bay window, which was nice spot to sit have a cuppa after a busy day out. The en-suite had every thing we needed, & everything worked. The breakfast room is a lovely spot. Room 3 gets the table at the front of the house with a view out. It was handy to see what the weather was doing. The breakfast was excellent. A great variety of continental, & a cooked as well.
( The fresh fruit, & the cooked mushrooms were the best of the whole trip)
The B & B is an easy walk to the centre of the village, & very close to Derwent Water for walking a lap of the lake. Thanks Karen & Richard, we would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1chdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

where do we start what a lovely place.spotlessly clean warm cozy and comfortably inviting.karen was very welcoming when we checked in and gave us plenty of information on where to eat and drink.the bedroom was lovely big really clean comfy bed with good quality bedding and towels.the breakfast was probably the best we have had plenty of choice and was always being refilled.huge bowl of freshly cut fruit and massive cooked full english.richard was very knowledgeable of the local walks.there were plenty of little touches that make this place special.we will definatly be returning.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank susan3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews