We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
378
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
378
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane nigel fresh fruit salad quality furniture warm welcome b and b town centre local area cooked breakfast room was spotless high standard a lovely stay choice of cereals great hosts few minutes walk lovely couple many thanks quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed here a couple of years ago so when planning a return visit to Keswick we had no hesitation in booking a room with Karen and Richard at Clarence House. We booked direct with them at their website as that was the cheapest price. The house is so warm, clean and comfortable and the service is just so friendly and helpful - why would we go anywhere else. Karen's breakfasts were as great as we remembered and Richard suggested some new walks for us. We will definitely be back for a third visit.

Room Tip: Book early and book direct with the B&B owners for the best price!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear Angela
It was lovely to welcome you both back to Clarence House and we are really grateful to you for this excellent review. We get real satisfaction from guests returning to us and are so pleased that your second visit to Keswick was a success.
Please come and see us again.
Best Wishes
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This place surpassed all of our expectations. Hosts were welcoming yet unobtrusive. The building itself was glorious and was restored beautifully. Décor was understated but traditional and personal to the local area (think lots of pictures of sheep!). It seems every little thing was thought out (water and biscuits replaced daily, boot tray etc.), which is greatly appreciated when you tend to notice the details! Particular highlight was the William Morris fabric (or William Morris style fabric) and of course the lovely breakfast. This is only served between 8.15 and 9.00, which is a small window but was not a problem for us! We really did appreciate the little extras (they kindly chilled our wine for us and kept our bags on the morning we checked out) which really do make the difference to ones experience.

In sum: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

P.S excellent value too :)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suzimalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Suzimalloo
Thank you for coming to stay with us at Clarence House and for going to the trouble of posting this really kind review. We are a small family business and we try our very best to offer a high standard of accommodation and service. Feedback like this makes it all worthwhile. We do ask guests to join us in the dining room for breakfast between 8.15 and 9.00 (i.e. begin breakfast by 9.00) as we've found this works okay for the vast majority of our visitors but just for clarification for anyone reading this they do not need to be finished by 9.00. Guests are often still in the dining room at 9.45 drinking coffee and chatting etc... which is fine by us.
Thanks again for wonderful review and for highly recommending Clarence House.
Best Wishes
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We have visited the Lakes several times but this was the first time staying at Clarence House, needless to say we will never stay anywhere else now we have found this perfect B&B. Richard and Karen were very welcoming and helped us to settle in very quickly after a long drive. Richard's knowledge and expertise of the high fells were very helpful. The full English breakfast was a delight and just what you need to set you up for a day in the Lakes.

A great location, with Skiddaw as a backdrop and just a short walk into the centre of Keswick where you will find some fantastic, traditional pubs to spend your evenings.

Thanks again to Richard and Karen, we will be seeing you again very shortly.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Lauren
Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are really happy to read that your New Years Break with us here at Clarence House was so enjoyable for you. We would never claim to be perfect but we do our best to make all guests feel welcome and comfortable and set them up for the day with a great breakfast.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you both back to our Guest House and thank you again
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Richard & Karen made us so welcome. We visited Clarence House as a family on Friday 27th Jan for 2 nights and stayed in 1 double room and 1 twin room. Our rooms & bathrooms were exceptionally clean. The beds were the comfiest ever. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard and were spacious. We would highly recommend Karen's breakfast; the mushrooms and sausages especially were scrumptious! Thanks for making our weekend a wonderful one to cherish. We hope to see you again soon. Sharon, Terry, Kelly & Charlotte.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Sharon
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us with your family and for going to the trouble to post this really kind review. It was a genuine pleasure for us to have all you as our guests for the weekend and we're delighted to hear that it was such an enjoyable experience for you all. We enjoyed chatting about shared experiences with you and hope you will come and visit us again.
Best Wishes
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Richard and Karen made us feel at home immediately upon arrival. Nothing is to much trouble for them, from recommending places to eat to helping you plan your daily walk. The room was really comfortable and equipped perfectly. Breakfast was Devine and really set you up for the day. We loved the fact that they bounce off each other and are a perfect double act, so much so that we have booked our return trip and are looking forward to returning. Thank you Richard and Karen for a lovely stay and we will see you soon.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markandheather2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Heather & Mark

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend here at Clarence House. We are really grateful to you for this fantastic review and thank you also for booking to come back again in the Summer. We take real personal pride in trying our very best to offer a warm welcome and high quality hospitality to all our guests, so feedback like this is very satisfying for us. See you again in a few months.

Best Wishes

Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews