We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Kitchen window looking out on the driveway on a sunny day.
View of Latrigg when standing in the front of the cottage.
Walking by the river Greta to the town centre. Our cottage is just behind the big birch tree.
Fritz park is just 2 minutes' walk away.
Looking at the Catbells when walking towards the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lil_alice
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Riverside Cottage over Easter Weekend. From our initial enquiry through to staying at the cottage and eventually leaving, the owner Jana, couldn't do enough for us. The cottage itself is fabulous, a large living / dining / kitchen area, bedroom and shower room. Everything was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was so well equipped we ate in the cottage every morning and night.
This cottage is the best we have stayed in in the lakes. Book it, you won't be disappointed, but please leave a week for us later in the year!
Thankyou Jana and Martin for a wonderful stay.
Alison and Mark

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod S
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well appointed apartment”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Jana and Martin's apartment in Keswick is very comfortable and well located in terms of proximity to the township which is a welcome advantage when travelling. The lakes district itself is very scenic. We used the bus service to get to the towns and lakes along the way as the roads can be quite narrow and dangerous for visiting drivers. Couldn't fault the apartment in terms of cleanliness and general comfort.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Me and my husband returned last Monday from a long weekend in Keswick. After reading through countless reviews on Trip Advisor to find a place for our first stay in the Lakes we decided upon Riverside Cottage. It ticked all of our boxes for location and quality and alongside the great reviews it came at an excellent very competitive price. We certainly were not disappointed. Jana was just lovely and was there next door to give us some advice on our planned walk when we needed it, yet she was totally non-intrusive.
The location of the cottage is excellent, just a 5-10 min walk to the town centre in one direction and to gorgeous countryside in the other. We immediately felt at home and the cottage was immaculate and stylish throughout with excellent quality fittings and furnishings and underfloor heating. Everything seemed to have been thought of including a selection of dvd's and lots of local information booklets. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with top quality linens and pillows and we appreciated there being a TV in the bedroom as well as in the living area.
We found Keswick very bustley with a lovely friendly atmosphere. Great market on Saturday too. It had such a pleasant holiday feel and was a delight to walk round with lots of boutique- style shops and quaint tea rooms in abundance. The walk down to Lake Derwent was so lovely too and the scenery fantastic. Which ever way you turned there were mountains all around; quite spectacular really. We had a lovely 50 min trip round the lake and spent hours ambling around the little streets looking in the shops.
To sum up we had a fabulous time and have fallen in love with the area. We felt very much at home in Riverside Cottage from the moment we stepped inside and thought everything to be of excellent quality. It was exceptional value. We would love to return and although we would like to explore other areas of the Lakes we thought Keswick and the surrounding areas with it's magnificent scenery was fabulous and wouldn't hesitate to stay at Riverside Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiBorg7of...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Bolt Hole!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for a week in March (we gambled with the weather - and lost!).

First, the not so good: the exterior of the property lack 'curb appear'; the cottage is actually a garage conversion. There's no real outside space, apart from the hard standing in front. Oh, and there's a skylight in the bedroom that lets in a lot of light from early in the morning, and quite a bit of noise when it rains. The choice of TV channels seemed very restricted (far fewer than you usually get on Freeview), and the wifi signal was very weak (although they've ordered a booster, it just hadn't arrived in time for our stay). And... that's it.

The rest is all good. The interior is as lovely as the pictures show it to be - Photoshop trickery not involved. The bathroom is spacious and well equipped; the bed comfy (on the firm side), and the kitchen (not my area of expertise) nicely equipped should you want to cook. There's lots of storage space in the bedroom, and of course, there's a parking space outside. If you've been to Keswick before you'll know what a premium parking is at there.

Jana (our host) was really helpful and welcoming, but also totally respected our privacy.

By the way, it's only five minutes walk into Keswick, or to the supermarket. There's also a petrol station just around the corner with late night shop, should you want a late night snack. And it's only a two minute drive to the A66.

I love visiting Keswick, and will definitely return to Riverside Cottage in the future; it's one of the nicest places I've stayed in the Lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Choice of TV channels limited, wifi signal very weak
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely apartment with everything you could need..Excellent location. Walkable to the town and in the perfect position to visit the other lakes which we did! Jana is a lovely person and very helpful. Would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;