We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
57
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water bottlesmile hikeplenty of blanketsbreakfast and packed lunchlong walkwelcoming atmospherewell stocked shopgreat facilitiestea and coffeeeasy accessfantastic locationlake districthostelmartinthrelkeldremotecumbria
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Fantastic location and walk in. Great atmosphere with no TV/wi-fi etc. Suzy and Martyn are the perfect hosts and have facilitated a really special place to stay. It will certainly be an annual trip now!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4ACM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed at Skiddaw House on Saturday night. A really warm welcome from the hosts after our 12 mile hike in from Caldbeck. The shared areas are very clean and well organised - promoting conversation and homeliness. Good set up with everything you need - right down to crocs when you take your boots off!
We purchased evening meal, breakfast and booze from the shop - so no need to carry it in.
We had a private room and the shared bathroom was just along the corridor.
Great accommodation (basic and adventurous), very friendly and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angelag353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Me and my daughter stayed here for one night whilst walking the Cumbria way on 11th August 16. The hostel/bunkhouse is only accessible on foot. There is a fantastic walk in from Keswick via the path around Latrigg fell. We were expecting it to be a pretty basic night in a great building in a fantastic situation. We were surprised to find it wasn't as basic as we had expected. They had a small shop on site too and we were able to buy things to make a nice evening meal with rice or pasta and also ingredients for a self catered breakfast, eggs, bread, cereal, porridge, milk. There is tea and coffee available. There is a tin for tea/coffee/milk donations. They also have a selection of wines by the bottle or small bottles for one glass and have bottles of real ale and spirits available. No card payment available due to no phone signal so bring cash. Wine and beer and food very reasonable prices.
We were greeted by the manager who showed us to where we could take our wet things off, offered some dry crocs for our feet and shown into the main area/kitchen/common room where there was a log fire stove lit and the kettle was already on the hob and tea and coffee ready for us to make a hot drink. the rooms are lovely, bunks and the odd single bed. There are showers and obviously toilets.
The views are stunning down the valleys.
Everywhere was well organised and very clean.
We enjoyed our night there are looking forward to going back. One of the best places to stay in the Lake district.

Room Tip: Remote only accessible on foot. Great views from any room.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Exploration802709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiddawHouse, Manager at YHA Skiddaw House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thanks for this - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We stopped here for one night of a cycling weekend. Amazing location and a really clean, friendly and welcoming experience. The wardens were very friendly and were able to provide useful advice about the local area etc.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Amazing views of the fells. You are right in amongst the mountains here. We stayed with a large group and thought that the facilities were excellent.
The wardens lit a fire for us. The whole group joined in to prepare and serve food and there is plenty of cooking/prep space and loads of cooking utensils. You can leave your outdoor stuff in a large boot room and there are indoor shoes for you to borrow. They even supply earplugs in case you are in one of the bunk rooms with snorers.

Room Tip: They are all charming bunk style rooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glasshalffull01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews